Cucumber-Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The cucumber-tomato combination didn't taste well to us. It was very hearty and fun to make, just a little too different and sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Lynn Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Good recipe. I put grilled sausages in it and placed it over spaghetti squash (baked cut size down at 350 degrees with garlic butter) and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Really enjoyed this. Like many who hadn't, I braised cucumbers after seeing Julie and Julia and loved them, so cooking cukes didn't worry me as it might have otherwise. Did cut the sugar as suggested, I think the cukes must counteract the acidicity of the tomatoes, so unsure if sugar is even necessary at all. My only complaint is that I shouldn't have made pasta ;) just the sauce and the crusty homemade pain du sel would've been okay by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
When I found too much cucumber in my refrigerator, and was tired of the same old cucumber recipe, I searched the site and found this recipe. I must admit; I wasn't completely sold when I read it, but I thought I'd give it a try - and I was not let down! I absolutely love this recipe - and my family loved it too! The only thing I really did different was substitute the dried seasonings for a general Italian seasoning mix. Other than cutting the vegetables up into pieces that were slightly too big (I'll go smaller next time), I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I liked it, used less sugar. I thought it was very spicy, but my husband didn't think it was at all. It was good and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe appealed to me due to the over productive cucumbers in my garden. I used only 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, and it still had a little too much spice for my children. I also used just 2 tsp sugar on the advice of other reviewers. I'll use 1 1/2 tsp next time. While I won't make this recipe frequently, it's a good way to add some variety with summer garden abundance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I was truly surprised how good this was. Had NEVER cooked cucumber in any type of recipe and the only reason I made this was because I needed to use a cucumber and I was tired of eating it raw in salads! I did use chopped sweet onion and I sauteed it with the bell pepper, garlic & basil before adding the rest of the ingredients to simmer. I used a potato masher to make the sauce a slightly smoother consistency and served it mixed with rotini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love this sauce!!! Everyone in my family loves it!!! Just one thing you really don't need as much sugar as it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dasjmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My fiance, who doesn't like cucumber raw, LOVED this recipe. He kept asking what spices were in it. I added less than a tsp of sugar, just enough to take away the bite. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States