Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Just like in the best sushi places! Just need to prepare in a covered bowl and shake very well then store in the fridge (covered) for at least two hours. Serve with soy sauce reduced with water and a little bit of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
turned out great... my wife has a new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Fantastic! Didn't add the ginger. Added a splash of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever made using cucumbers in a vinegar marinade. I used Marukan Seasoned Gourmet Rice Vinegar with low salt and low sugar bought from our local health food grocery store. My husband devoured it. I added shavings of carrots as well. Wish I had more cucumbers to make another batch right away. It was not vinegary. If anything it was a perfect mix and nothing overpowered on flavor. Thanks to all the other reviewers who mention other recipes. I have found some delicious ones in the reviews for this dish and actually found this dish by reading someone else's review of another dish I made to go with the cucumber salad: Yakitori marinade from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The minced ginger adds a really nice zing to this low calorie/zero fat side dish. It was a bit too salty for us, so I would cut back on that the next time. Served with Tropical Grilled Chicken Breast, Carrot Rice, and Mama's Blackberry Cobbler for dessert (all from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great recipe. Thank you. Some people are so rude! It's called this not that. I added this this and that etc... If people are going to add so much to a recipe, then you are not following the recipe, so how can you rate it one way or another? If you insist on changing so much on a recipe, write your own and don't say you followed somone's recipe (but made your own additions) and then leave them 4 stars after you completely changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Just right! I did top with toasted sesame seeds when I made it for my family which added to the yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was tasty and refreshing. It went great with our main dish, "Japanese Beef Stir Fry," recipe also from this site, and would also be wonderful with sushi. I had something similar at an excellent sushi restaurant in Minneapolis and this was almost a carbon copy. A little sweet (I used Splenda), a little gingery, but that's the way it's supposed to be. A definite "make again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I used ground ginger in place of fresh and truvia in place of sugar. This is great!!!!! Quick and easy. A guilt free snack that I like to use instead of chips when I'm dieting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Excellent..... used sushi rice vinegar (already has sugar added) minced ginger and a bit of salt. Perfect, not too sweet... the sesame seeds were a nice touch... used a combination of black and white seeds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States