Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
One of my favorites. I don't add salt, and substitute Splenda Spoonful for sugar. I also use 1/2 cup of rice vinegar. Great shelf life on summer picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Husband won't touch cucumbers, which is fine by me, since I can enjoy this tasty little salad all by myself! Generally using English cucs, I always use the garlic-flavored or seasoned rice vinegar and whisk in a couple pinches of dried ginger, a pinch of garlic powder and a quick shake of black pepper. I always omit the sugar, as I prefer the tang of the vinegar. I like to toss in a few paper-thin slivered raw onions. Other variations which compliment this salad include shredded carrots or thinly sliced radishes. Experiment and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Nice make ahead recipe for warm summer months. I put some cilantro and extra ginger in mine. Great alongside pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very easy to make, following the recipe exactly. A nice complement to a barbecue meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
made as is and is delicious and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
very good. i did not have the rice wine vinegar, so i substituted some mango vinegar that i had been given. it went well with the ginger, and i also added shaved carrot strips as another reviewer suggested. next time i'll try with the rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
We really liked this. I'm surprised hubby liked it as much as he did considering it's a little unusual. Even though I'm pretty timid with spicy things, I think I'll add a tiny pinch of red pepper flakes the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Fantastic! The ginger gave it a refreshing flavor. I didn't scoop out the seeds as I used hot-house cucumbers, which have very few seeds in them. I also only let it sit about 40 minutes in the fridge but they were plenty flavorful at even that length. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talina
Home Town: Silver Creek, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2aMunch
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good, but not something I would eat all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an awesome and extremely simple recipe that is perfect any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyLab
Home Town: Judith Gap, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States