Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Simple recipe and delicious cool salad. Next time I will add some finely shredded carrot, finely shredded or zested ginger and black sesame seeds. It will add a little pizaz to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I brought this to a potluck and an Asian friend said it reminded her of the food of her youth. Several people asked me for the recipe. My twist on it is adding 1 T sesame oil and a dash of red pepper flakes. That will up it to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
If it were not for a mandolin, I'm not sure I would have tried this recipe. I use English cucumbers and leave the skins on, plus have added about 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil when I've made it. The fresh ginger makes this recipe. I brought this in to work for a potluck, and it received rave reviews. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I like this recipe. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because I do like to add a splash or two of soy sauce to mine, I think the soy sauce gives it that flavor it's missing. We have a local restaurant that serves a mixed green salad topped with sunomono, carrots, bell peppers, Maifun (rice noodles), diced avocado and seared tuna with a soy ginger dressing. This recipe taste exactly like the restaurant makes their cucumbers that they put on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe, although I only had seasoned rice vinegar on hand, I did however add just 2-3 chopped Thai chili peppers seeds and all to give it a little kick, I will make again with and without the peppers..I added the peppers because I live on spicy food while my family doesn't.But it is going in my recipe box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
It is delicious! I have made it several times and have added thinly sliced onion the last few times and that is good too.The basic recipe is a good way to start, then tweak as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
perfect snack for me and bf.. light and tangy.. reduced the sugar by a third, but added everything else as written.. ty for a nice simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Fair - ginger gave a different flavor that I am not used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Excellent. I used powdered ginger instead of fresh ginger root and it still tasted great. It had the perfect amount of kick for me. I think fresh ginger might have been too much. I will definitely make this again. Such an easy lunch snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States