Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very easy recipe, and the soup came out delicious. I did omit the cream of wheat (...forgot to pick some up :-/), and used a good handful of dill instead of taragon. Stored it in the fridge and served cold. Will definently be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Walking Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe for all those garden cucumbers you can never seem to keep up with. I made a big batch (minus the sour cream) and put in freezer containers (adding sour cream later). We ate soup throughout the winter! Great in bread bowls, with a large salad, or simple chicken or ham dinners. My husband loves this recipe! I will try it with dill this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
August 2008 Had lots of cucumber so what's best to do...make soup. Great recipe. Easy and delicious. I changed it into vegan by using Sour Supreme by Tofutti. Used our own cucumbers, green onions and spices. Quick from garden to bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was quick and easy. I used 1/2 cup potato soup instead of farina and pureed the soup for about 2 minutes. The final texture was almost like a broth which made it light and great for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Not bad at all! Better cold than warm, but then, I'm not a giant fan of chilled soups. I will, however, make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Yum! I made it vegetarian by substituting in vegetable boullion cubes and water and tofu sour cream. I also added sliced summer squash, celery, and fresh jalapeno pepper from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catinpas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is different from the one that I make but it was good. I like to try different variations of cucumber soup. With this soup I ommited the chicken broth, and replaced it with vegetable broth the vinegar I used is tarragon vinegar, and I added dill weed since I like a lot of dill with my cukes I added a lot. I also used half and half with this recipe instead of sour cream it seems to make it rich flavor. Since I like a heartier soup I added more farina(cream of wheat) to the soup then I pureed it. Mix everything up and let it sit overnite and before serving I puree it again and serve. This way it allows the flavors to blend. I think the next time that I make this soup I will try adding a little white wine. This soup is one of my staples during the summer. I pair this up with a cold vegetarian sandwhich, and a tall glass of of Ice tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this. I had however never heard of cucumber soup before; I had a lot of dill, so that is what I used instead of parsley and it was a nice compliment. I made it the night before when the weather was ok for dinner when it was going to be scorching hot and I'm glad I did! Served with recipes for stuffed pattypan and marinated mushrooms from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is a very different recipe. I liked it, but my mom did not. I did not seed the cucumbers. I just peeled and diced. I didn't have farina, so I added half of a potato. It tasted fine. Great for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent! Definitely love it with the dill. I skipped the butter part, and just used fat free cooking spray, which brought my weight watchers numbers down to 1 point using fat free sour cream-delicious! I also added a few dashes of Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States