Cucumber Sandwiches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Always a hit at any event! I use a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing Mix in lieu of the italian packet and I like to add 1/4 cup of sour cream. You need to let the ingredients season overnight for a smoother, more powerful flavor. I have used the dill weed or lemon pepper on top of the cucumbers and have received positive reviews on both choices. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a huge hit!! I used regular old white bread. ***As a side note after the fact - When I mentioned I was making these for our holiday party this week, the people who had them the last time I made them just about flipped. These really are a great party hit if you make them as the recipe states but you MUST let them sit overnight and the dill is a great addition for flavor!!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These are addictive. I made them for my daughter's garden-themed birthday party and used flower cookie cutters to cut the (lightly toasted)bread into shapes, spread the cream cheese mixture on, and placed flower-shaped cucumber slices on top. They were sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I make these substituting 1/2 cup of Vanilla yogurt for the Mayonnaise (more carbs but significantly less fat). If you don't like using packaged salad dressings, try adding 1-2 Tbls. lemon juice and 1/8-1/4 tsp. each garlic powder, basil, oregano, parsley and cayenne pepper to your cream cheese and then "drizzle" olive oil (approx. 1 Tbls. at a time) -- stirring/mixing between "drizzles" -- until you attain your desired consistency (I usually need 4-6 Tbls.). SO Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made a couple changes but wanted to post review for those who were thinking of doing the same...I used Hidden Valley Ranch mix instead of Italian and used plain white bread. I had one that I toasted and one non-toasted(prefer this way MUCH more). Even with changes, I found this to be very tasty. I will be making this again and am looking forward to using Italian mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberryshortcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I discovered this recipe many years ago and in that time have eaten unladylike quantites of this delightful little bite. I usually cut the bread with a cookie cutter to give it a little more eye appeal, but that's just me. Also lovely with a little shrimp perched on top, anchored in a bit of spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I made these for a baby shower last month and they were great. I've already given the recipe to several people. I made a few small changes, just to suit my tastes. I put dill in the cream cheese mixture, rather than on top, just to give it more flavor. I probably used 1-2 teaspoons. Then I just used regular ole' white sandwich bread, cut off the crusts and sliced into triangles. A yummy, light treat worth making for showers, brunches or would be perfect for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Thank you - I made them for a community picnic and was asked for the recipe as well. I lightly toasted rye bread and cut them with a round cookie cutter. I added county herb dry salad mix with a half teaspoon of dill and left it over night. At other suggestions I also added an extra 1/2 cup of sour which helped stretch it a bit more.I also used english cucumbers because they are a perfect size. Topped them off with more dill and this is a must - Dill, dill, dill - I am glad they were all eaten because they are so addictive that if any came home I would of ate them! If you need to make an impression on a large group, make these you can't go wrong. I also think it is a reasonably priced recipe to make for 100 plus people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Turned out great. I added 1 teas of dill and decreased the amount of the italian dressing just a smidge. One thing that made these even better: Get the "take and bake" unbaked French loaves from the grocery store and bake them up when you are ready to prepare the sandwiches. REALLY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Really good recipe, I've made this for two different parties now, and it's been a hit both times. I make these open-faced whenever I make them and use what the package describes as "mild Italian" dressing mix. My stepmother also liked it so much she asked me for the recipe. It's also extremely easy to make, and looks really nice too, which is a plus. I'd definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States