Cucumber Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Mmmm...crunchy, delicious & satisfying! I LOVE the textures & a thin slice or two of deli turkey wouldn't hurt for those who just hafta have some meat in their sandwich. I also have been known to cheat & just use an Italian salad dressing or vinaigrette in place of the oil/vinegar, a dash of salt is a must & a sprinkle of dill weed adds a nice touch, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I liked this very much. No changes made except to use whipped cream cheese because its easier to spread as another reviewer noted. The layer of cream cheese keeps the bread from absorbing the olive oil and vinegar and to my surprise was a delicious addition. I don't know why some reviews are saying the bread gets soggy, it shouldn't because the recipe notes to eat immediately. Most enjoyable was after eating I didn't feel stuffed like I do when I eat a meat based sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this sandwich! My husband, a meat lover, said he felt like he was eating a salad between two pieces of bread, nothing special. I tried bean sprouts since I could not find alfalfa, and I boiled the sprouts for one minute, adding the vinegar and olive oil to only the drained sprouts in an attempt to keep the sandwich from getting too soggy like other reviews had mentioned. The next day I took a sandwich for lunch and added a slice of Swiss cheese--delicious! We ate these sandwiches with a side of zucchini relish, a recipe I found on this site that was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Shelden Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was great! The only different thing I did was toast the bread. I've been looking for a great sandwich, and this is it! It's a little messy, but oh so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family really enjoyed this. The only reason I am dinging it a star is because the olive oil/red vinegar mixture was a little weird for us. I think regular vegetable oil and red wine vinegar would have been better. One daughter said this vinegar combo kept her from tasting the avocado, and to leave it off next time. I will definitely try this again, it is definitely worth repeating. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Yum! Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Add a bit of mustard or honey-mustard to the bread and it's really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWNYVERE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Would love to give it 5 stars but I had to sub red capsicum as we didn't have the pepperoncini. Tasted healthy and fresh with a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I wasn't to sure about this sandwich. The ingredient list seemed to leave much to be desired. But since I've been trying to eat healthier I decided to give it a try. The Verdict=DELICIOUS. Very refreshing even during the winter months and healthy. Followed the recipe as is...but used some of my local markets guacamole instead of avocado. Definitely a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariel E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My favorite veggie sandwich! I don't change a thing! I'm amazed at how filling this sandwich is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States