Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love cucumber salads and I love vanilla yogurt, but I just couldn't bring myself to use the vanilla yogurt in this recipe because the brand I have on hand is a little too sweet (perhaps because it's fat free and gets it's sweetness from an artificial sweetner). I opted to use plain yogurt instead and a bit of sugar to taste. This recipe didn't specify what type of onion, so I used green onion because it's subtle. I sliced the cucumbers thin and left the skin on as I usually do with cucumber salads. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I really like this salad. I did make a couple of changes. I used plain yogurt, not vanilla and I roasted the garlic before adding it to the salad. I also sprinkled the top with chives and more dill before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STTLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Smith Bay, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I tried this recipe out on some guests that came over and ended up regretting it. The yogurt gives the dressing a strange sweet edge. If I had to do it again I would substitute something savory in place of the yogurt. I just don't think of cucumber salad as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Just perfect! LOVED the flavor. I stuck with the recipe as posted, then added a few bacon crumbles on top. I salted and drained the cucumbers for 3 hours before making up the salad. This makes the cucumbers very crunchy. Also they don't drain into the dressing to dilute it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I opted to use plain yogurt and this turned out great. Very much like tzatziki sauce. After reading through some of the reviews, I started thinking about vanilla flavored yogurt. It seems to me that today's flavored yogurts are very sweet and some brands of vanilla yogurt are really more like a custard dessert. It's not like the plain vanilla yogurt that you used to buy that was only slightly less offensive than plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The vanilla yogurt seemed to give it an odd flavor. Salad was edible, but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I really liked this! I opted not to peel my cucumbers and used fresh dill. Great flavor, similar to Tzatziki without the bite, and a subtle hint of sweetness from the yogurt. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
The yogurt in this recipe adds an interesting sweetness. Since I didn't have onion, I used onion salt in place of the regular salt, and next time I would thinly slice the cucumber rather than dicing. All in all, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I'm not sure if I did something wrong but this didn't seem to have much flavor. It also didn't hold well in the fridge because it got watery after sitting for just a couple of hours. If I make it again, I will probably tweak the recipe a bit and not make it until right before I'm ready to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4carolinas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very easy, semi-healthy and delicious! Got rave reviews and if you run the peeled cucumbers through the food processer (slice), it's almost no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States