Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious! This was so easy to make and is a great side dish! Tastes just like Tzatziki sauce. I put this in a Pita with some tomato slices and it makes for a great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love cucumber salads and I love vanilla yogurt, but I just couldn't bring myself to use the vanilla yogurt in this recipe because the brand I have on hand is a little too sweet (perhaps because it's fat free and gets it's sweetness from an artificial sweetner). I opted to use plain yogurt instead and a bit of sugar to taste. This recipe didn't specify what type of onion, so I used green onion because it's subtle. I sliced the cucumbers thin and left the skin on as I usually do with cucumber salads. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I liked the addition of vanilla yogurt! Becomes quite watery after it has been sitting in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I opted to use plain yogurt and this turned out great. Very much like tzatziki sauce. After reading through some of the reviews, I started thinking about vanilla flavored yogurt. It seems to me that today's flavored yogurts are very sweet and some brands of vanilla yogurt are really more like a custard dessert. It's not like the plain vanilla yogurt that you used to buy that was only slightly less offensive than plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED this recipe. Super easy, fairly healthy and a great way to use up cucmbers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I really liked this! I opted not to peel my cucumbers and used fresh dill. Great flavor, similar to Tzatziki without the bite, and a subtle hint of sweetness from the yogurt. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I tried this recipe out on some guests that came over and ended up regretting it. The yogurt gives the dressing a strange sweet edge. If I had to do it again I would substitute something savory in place of the yogurt. I just don't think of cucumber salad as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very easy, semi-healthy and delicious! Got rave reviews and if you run the peeled cucumbers through the food processer (slice), it's almost no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The vanilla yogurt seemed to give it an odd flavor. Salad was edible, but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I really like this salad. I did make a couple of changes. I used plain yogurt, not vanilla and I roasted the garlic before adding it to the salad. I also sprinkled the top with chives and more dill before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STTLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Smith Bay, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States