Cucumber Salad With Thai Sweet Chili Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I was bored of my regular cucumber salad so I tried this. It seems like the quantities are way off here. I used twice the amount of cucumbers but between the vinegar and chili sauce the salad was so sharp. It was edible the first time I served it, but after marinating for another day we just couldn't stomach it. I'm not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The flavor of these surprised me. I am not too familiar with Thai food, but there was a lot going on flavor wise. They were sweet, salty, and a tad peppery or vinegary. I actually was able to find the sweet chili sauce at Trader Joes and my garlic powder container, from Penzeys, said granulated garlic on the top. Until I saw that I was confused to that ingredient specifically. It said to cut the cucumber thin. I sliced it about 1/8," and I used a partially peeled English cucumber. I ended up doubling the other ingredients as I had quite a bit of cucumber slices. Only change was, eating it after 5-10 minutes. I just prefer crisp cucumbers. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
We liked this recipe, a lot, but I did cut the sesame oil down to 1/2 teaspoon. I made it up in the morning and they were flavor packed by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Easy to prepare and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiFar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this. However, unless you are big on sesame oil, reduce or leave out. Next time I'll reduce it. This was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made this exactly as written and it was DELICIOUS. A perfect side for a BBQ. Cool, tangy, sweet and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. Was exactly what I had in mind to go with chicken fried rice. Omitted the green onions and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I had really high hopes for this. i like fish sauce, and sweet chilly sauce, and i used an english cucumber. the next day this was all watered down and soggy and just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Refreshing Salad I added more Thai sweet Chili sauce for our taste Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was a simple and delicious recipe....I made it to accompany an Asian shrimp dish with rice but I would recommend it be used for any Asian dish with noodles as well. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States