Cucumber Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I love cucumber and red onion together. I used more sugar and regular vinegar instead of the rice wine. I also threw in some dill for added flavor and they were delicious. Thanks Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I used white onion (I did not have a red onion) and doubled the sugar. After marinating for several hours, the onion flavor was overpowering so I drained the liquid and added 2 more teaspoons of sugar to sweeten it up. I am going to put it on a sandwich with cream cheese, tomatoes and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I have tried many Cucumber Salad recepies but this is the best. Sometimes I add a little fresh dill or fresh parsly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great refreshing taste. I increased the sugar slightly and used sea salt instead of seasoned salt. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a nice refreshing way to serve cucumbers. I only gave it a 4 because it is not a SUPER recipe. It is simple and good, but nothing that makes it "extra". This is the way southerners make cucumber salad alot. I used white vinegar because that is what I had on hand and I also added some fresh chopped dill. This is a good recipe and it always goes over well with any meal during the hot, summer months. Use onion as little or as much as you like, red onions can be strong, so you have to adjust to your personal taste. This is a good, simple recipe that anyone can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Just what I was looking for. The salad was not too vinegary. I also added diced yellow pepper and halved cherry tomatoes and it came out delish! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious. I used the Rice Vinegar and 2 tsp. sugar. I also used white onion instead of red. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I love this salad! Instead of sour cream and milk I used a cup of fat free honey dijon salad dressing for extra flavor. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I added 1/4tsp cilantro and 1/4tsp mint to add some extra flavor! Great served over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Super easy but a little too bitter for my tastes with the vinegar but my wife loved it. Varying the ratio of vinegar to sugar helps make this a sour or sweet salad depending on your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States