Cucumber Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I also added yellow pepper for a nice change. I didn't have any rice wine vinegar so I subsitutued apple vinegar instead...maybe that explains the "3" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Super easy but a little too bitter for my tastes with the vinegar but my wife loved it. Varying the ratio of vinegar to sugar helps make this a sour or sweet salad depending on your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I LIKED THIS BUT I USED BALSAMIC VINEGAR INSTEAD OF RICE WINE VINEGAR AND I WAS OUT OF WHITE SUGAR SO I USED BROWN SUGAR AND IT TURNED OUT OKAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious. I used the Rice Vinegar and 2 tsp. sugar. I also used white onion instead of red. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I love cucumber and red onion together. I used more sugar and regular vinegar instead of the rice wine. I also threw in some dill for added flavor and they were delicious. Thanks Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I have tried many Cucumber Salad recepies but this is the best. Sometimes I add a little fresh dill or fresh parsly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Just what I was looking for. The salad was not too vinegary. I also added diced yellow pepper and halved cherry tomatoes and it came out delish! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This is just what I was looking for!! I used white wine vinegar and doubled the sugar. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I used white onion (I did not have a red onion) and doubled the sugar. After marinating for several hours, the onion flavor was overpowering so I drained the liquid and added 2 more teaspoons of sugar to sweeten it up. I am going to put it on a sandwich with cream cheese, tomatoes and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I don't know how to rate this recipe, send I ended up not following it, really. I was looking for a Thai-style cucumber salad. This recipe looked kind of like it on paper. However,I quickly realized it wasn't quite right. I eliminated the water entirely, added a lot more sugar and some more salt (tasting along the way). It's still missing something, but the recipe became very close to what I was looking for, so I really appreciate this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States