Cucumber Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
A hit with my family this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I followed the quantity as the directions stated and used white onion instead of red. I thought it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Raye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Based on other's suggestions I didn't use the full water that was suggested and I feel it ended up too vinegar-ie. Regardless, I think this needed a little more sugar or something else to cut down on the acidity and something else to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great salad! I didn't bother with the water and used regular salt vs. seaoned. I served this right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Used cucumber, red onion, splenda and rice wine vinegar. omitted water and salt. all the water does is dilute the flavor. as made very low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I agree with Dee, this is the way Southerners make cucumber salad, been doing this for many years. It is a good recipe, but isn't a new one. I was looking for a new way to use fresh cucumbers. This is good, but been using this for many years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a nice refreshing way to serve cucumbers. I only gave it a 4 because it is not a SUPER recipe. It is simple and good, but nothing that makes it "extra". This is the way southerners make cucumber salad alot. I used white vinegar because that is what I had on hand and I also added some fresh chopped dill. This is a good recipe and it always goes over well with any meal during the hot, summer months. Use onion as little or as much as you like, red onions can be strong, so you have to adjust to your personal taste. This is a good, simple recipe that anyone can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
The onion taste was too strong in this recipe, but otherwise it would have been good. Next time I'll leave the onion out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a very good basic cucumber salad. I followed the recipe exactly and my family enjoyed it. This is a classic recipe, nothing fancy, but quick and delicious none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe is adaptable to what you have ripe in your garden. In addition to the cucumber and onion I threw in a sliced bell pepper, some cherry tomato's and snap beans because they were just coming ripe in my garden. Used Red Wine Vinegar instead of rice wine because that is what I had. Delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States