Cucumber Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I did not care for this recipe. The biggest problem is the amount of salad dressing and buttermilk. It's enough for five times the recipe. I knew that it was too much after mixing it together, so I only used half to begin with. I ended up draining it all out and starting all over--this time leaving out the buttermilk because it makes it too "runny" and just using mayo. Also, a half cup pasta is not nearly enough--try two to three cups, uncooked. There is way too many onions and not nearly enough seasoning. I suggest adding some of your favorites. I added a little vinegar and dill weed. It looked so bland. I added shredded carrots for color. Tri-color pasta would be great, too. Turned out good...after a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe, as is, is not good. Before I poured the dressing on I tasted the pasta mixture with a little bit of dressing. I am glad I did. I didn't use the salad dressing/buttermilk mixture and just added a little garlic salt and mixed in some ranch dressing. I certainly used more pasta, less celery and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
WAY too much dressing according to the recipe. I started with 1/2 cup mayo and just added small amounts of buttermilk until I thought it was the right consistency. The salad looked kind of bland with just the cucumber and onion (I didn't use celery - personal preference.) So I added two diced roma tomatoes and a lot of fresh herbs - parsley, chives, and dill. I used celery salt instead of seed and that helped give it the extra seasoning that it needed to be really good. I'd say the recipe as written is a 3, but with the additions it's a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
nice taste to it! People eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Ummm, it's okay. Pretty light. Great for a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great basic summer salad. I add a bit of salt and pepper to mine and use scallions instead of onion... Milder flavor to go with the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
As is, this recipe has far too much dressing. I made a full box of fiori pasta for the stated amount of dressing, and adjusted the portions of the vegetables accordingly. I also seasoned this with garlic power, dill, celery seed, and pepper (all to taste) to give it a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I only used about half the dressing, and I substituted 1 tsp of dill for 1 tsp celery seed. It was a nice side dish as is, but I added feta cheese, walnut pieces and cooked flaked salmon to convert it to a light summer entree - very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States