Cucumber Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
As is, this recipe has far too much dressing. I made a full box of fiori pasta for the stated amount of dressing, and adjusted the portions of the vegetables accordingly. I also seasoned this with garlic power, dill, celery seed, and pepper (all to taste) to give it a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I only used about half the dressing, and I substituted 1 tsp of dill for 1 tsp celery seed. It was a nice side dish as is, but I added feta cheese, walnut pieces and cooked flaked salmon to convert it to a light summer entree - very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great basic summer salad. I add a bit of salt and pepper to mine and use scallions instead of onion... Milder flavor to go with the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
WAY too much dressing according to the recipe. I started with 1/2 cup mayo and just added small amounts of buttermilk until I thought it was the right consistency. The salad looked kind of bland with just the cucumber and onion (I didn't use celery - personal preference.) So I added two diced roma tomatoes and a lot of fresh herbs - parsley, chives, and dill. I used celery salt instead of seed and that helped give it the extra seasoning that it needed to be really good. I'd say the recipe as written is a 3, but with the additions it's a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Ummm, it's okay. Pretty light. Great for a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
nice taste to it! People eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe, as is, is not good. Before I poured the dressing on I tasted the pasta mixture with a little bit of dressing. I am glad I did. I didn't use the salad dressing/buttermilk mixture and just added a little garlic salt and mixed in some ranch dressing. I certainly used more pasta, less celery and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I did not care for this recipe. The biggest problem is the amount of salad dressing and buttermilk. It's enough for five times the recipe. I knew that it was too much after mixing it together, so I only used half to begin with. I ended up draining it all out and starting all over--this time leaving out the buttermilk because it makes it too "runny" and just using mayo. Also, a half cup pasta is not nearly enough--try two to three cups, uncooked. There is way too many onions and not nearly enough seasoning. I suggest adding some of your favorites. I added a little vinegar and dill weed. It looked so bland. I added shredded carrots for color. Tri-color pasta would be great, too. Turned out good...after a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States