Cucumber Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OHIO MOM
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very yummy! Great way to use up cucumbers. We only used 1/2 the amount of oil and the rest applesauce. It did take some time to peel and shred, but is worth it! We used walnuts since we didn't have any pecans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe to use the cucumbers in your garden that got away from you. You know the big giants. Or even the smaller ones that you have 24 of them hanging around. DO NOT skip the step of salting the cucumbers and letting them rest. Mine sat for about 3 hours before I used them and I was amazed at how much water the salt pulled from them. The taste and texture is a lot like zucchini bread. I baked mine in 5 - 3 1/2" x 6" pans, 2 without pecans and 3 with pecans. They were done in 38 minutes. I have 2 more cukes on my counter that I'm baking 10 mini loaves to freeze. My DS loved this and wants to take a few back to school with him. Our favorite way to eat this bread is toasted with a thin layer of butter (the guys) dry (for me) for breakfast. Thanks Marcella for posting this recipe - it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was great- moist and flavorful. The cucumber taste was good and not overwhelming. The only things I did differently was I drained my cucumbers for at least an hour and I used walnuts instead of pecans. I will make again and pass this recipe on to others. Thanks Marcella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
another perfect way to use up too many cucumbers. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil to make it a bit healthier. No one tasted the cucumber! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This bread is delicious! Super moist, it tastes alot like zucchini or pumpkin bread. I made my batch a little bigger (3 large loaves), added some shredded zucchini and ground flaxseed and put in a little less sugar than the recipe stated. A little healthier for you and it still tasted great. This is a great way to use all the extra cukes in your garden that you can't get around to eat or pickling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
If you are making cucumber bread, you are going to expect it to taste a little bit like cucumber. We thought it tasted like pumpkin bread, and we didn't notice the cucumber taste very much except as an after taste. I did not peel and seed all my cucumbers as they were directly out of my garden and did not have tough skins or large seeds. I too substituted applesauce for the oil. It baked well and sliced easily. I am adding raisins to the bread today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I missed the step to drain cucumbers and it still turned out great. Making more to put in freezer to save for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful!It's moist and flavorful- whole family loved it. I even had my mother and mother-in-law asking for the recipe! I also used only 1/2 the oil and substituted applesauce for the other 1/2. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I added a little bit more cinnamon and loved it. Make sure you get all the seeds out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was definitely different. I was surprised by the amount of cucumber it called for. Other "veggie" breads such as squash & zucchini bread only call for 1 cup. Or maybe since I blended my cukes in my Ninja, I ended up with more per cup? Anyway, the little ones liked it and I found that, toasted with butter, I could eat it. The cucumber flavor is very strong and hangs around. Since I have a lot of cukes from a friend's garden, I will try this again, but reduce the amount of cucumber and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States