Cucumber Gyro Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My family loves this sauce on gyros. The only addition that we always include is dried minced onion. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I like this recipe but it was a little to thick with just sour cream. So I added about a cup if half and half cream. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a little by, after grating the cucumber, squeezing the water from them because what wasn't used was really watery the next day, and I also only used fresh garlic, no garlic powder, and added a dash of salt to taste. But it was really good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I was looking for a way to make a Gyro sauce that did not call for yogurt since I had none on hand and I did not want to make a trip to the local market. I came across this, and I am glad I did. I liked it very well. I did not have the fresh dill either so I was forced to improvise. I usually make recipes EXACTLY as directed the first time, but was not able to this time. So I used 1/4 tsp dry dill weed instead. It turned out great. Thank you for posting a simple way to make gyro sauce when you don't have or don't want to use yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I served this with the Feta Cheese Turkey Burgers from this site and it was great. I did not add the mustard or feel the need to add garlic powder since I used fresh garlic already. Also had to substitute dry dill for the fresh which I know is not as good but we still liked it. I blended it all in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I let it set-up but even for left-overs the next day the sauce was still a little too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I wasn't sure about the sauce with sour cream but it was very good. I followed the hints of others and cut out the seeds of the cucumbers and after I grated them I squeezed them out with a paper towel. It made a difference in my sauce. One of my complaints about homemade tzatziki is the way it gets watery. With this technique it didn't get watery at all and I made it over an hour before we ate. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used all ingredients, but added a little more sour cream and olive oil. I did not have grader, so put all ingredients in the blender and let it do the job--there were not any seeds left over or anything. Tasted great. I agree with the other people. If I were to make this often I might switch it up and use greek yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnesotajamie04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Exactly what I wanted, thanks for a great recipe. I used 2 cucumbers and after shredding them put them in a dish towel and twisted it to remove as much "water" as possible. That is my only hint, the rest was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This reminded me of a Greek restaurant back home. Oh yum. I made it per the recipe. It was great. Then I made a second batch with added garlic, onion and that came out great. This is a great BASE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States