Cucumber Gyro Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
As a greek american living in Greece just a few suggestions. Make sure you drain as much juice from the cucumber before mixing. Use then about a 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil in the mixture to smooth it out. In Greece no one uses mustard so that is up to taste of anyone. It is best if it sits about 8 hours in fridge and put a piece of loaf bread on top so it will soak up extra moisture from cucumber. Remove bread before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used plain lowfat or no fat yougurt rather than sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Just like the sauce served at our favorite restaurant. I prefer this sauce over similar recipes because it is made with sour cream instead of yogurt. I used English cucumber and fat free sour cream. It was divine. I want to eat it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is an excellent gyros dip, very close to what I grew up eating in Cicero/Chicago. I added thin sliced onion to mine and it completed the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A++ I used one cup plain Greek yogurt, 16 oz of lowfat sour cream (I accidently bought low fat), 2 single cloves of fresh garlic pressed, one regular cucumber (de-seeded) half grated and half diced up tiny - we like the added texture and a couple dashes of garlic-salt... so it was sort of a double batch... LOVED this. I could and will make this 1000 times and eat it on everything. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
finely shread the cucumber remove the seeds and squeeze out excess water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I liked the fact that I had everything on hand to make this, but I really prefer the yogurt based gyro sauce. This is great in a pinch, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent tasting and this is what I was looking for to add to wraps. I happened to use chciken and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Its great. not only with Gyros but also with some pasta and fresh cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Not bad. I subbed 1/2 c. yogurt for 1/2 c. of the sour cream, and added a Tbl. of sugar, as well as some feta cheese, crumbled. I shoulda thrown it all in the blender, b/c I like a thinner sauce. This recipe was simple, and it was okay, but I may still use another recipe if I have more time on my hands next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States