Cucumber Gyro Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My family loves this sauce on gyros. The only addition that we always include is dried minced onion. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I like this recipe but it was a little to thick with just sour cream. So I added about a cup if half and half cream. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a little by, after grating the cucumber, squeezing the water from them because what wasn't used was really watery the next day, and I also only used fresh garlic, no garlic powder, and added a dash of salt to taste. But it was really good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I was looking for a way to make a Gyro sauce that did not call for yogurt since I had none on hand and I did not want to make a trip to the local market. I came across this, and I am glad I did. I liked it very well. I did not have the fresh dill either so I was forced to improvise. I usually make recipes EXACTLY as directed the first time, but was not able to this time. So I used 1/4 tsp dry dill weed instead. It turned out great. Thank you for posting a simple way to make gyro sauce when you don't have or don't want to use yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I served this with the Feta Cheese Turkey Burgers from this site and it was great. I did not add the mustard or feel the need to add garlic powder since I used fresh garlic already. Also had to substitute dry dill for the fresh which I know is not as good but we still liked it. I blended it all in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I let it set-up but even for left-overs the next day the sauce was still a little too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I wasn't sure about the sauce with sour cream but it was very good. I followed the hints of others and cut out the seeds of the cucumbers and after I grated them I squeezed them out with a paper towel. It made a difference in my sauce. One of my complaints about homemade tzatziki is the way it gets watery. With this technique it didn't get watery at all and I made it over an hour before we ate. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used all ingredients, but added a little more sour cream and olive oil. I did not have grader, so put all ingredients in the blender and let it do the job--there were not any seeds left over or anything. Tasted great. I agree with the other people. If I were to make this often I might switch it up and use greek yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnesotajamie04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Exactly what I wanted, thanks for a great recipe. I used 2 cucumbers and after shredding them put them in a dish towel and twisted it to remove as much "water" as possible. That is my only hint, the rest was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This reminded me of a Greek restaurant back home. Oh yum. I made it per the recipe. It was great. Then I made a second batch with added garlic, onion and that came out great. This is a great BASE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States