Cucumber Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Just some comments for a good end result. I read the comments about squeezing out excess water from cucumbers and thought..yes...splendid idea, as for it could be a runny mess. So I did this, and regardless- its a pretty chunky unappetizing looking end product. Looked like cottage cheese- I put it in the food processor, which extremely helped the dip look more appetizing and smooth, but it was pretty stiff, and I knew once it went back in the fridge it would be too hard to dip a cracker in. So I started adding some more cucumber without (de-juicing) it to unharden the dip more. So I would recommend a food processor and kind of adding undrained cucumber as you go, until you get the right texture. Also, these kinds of dips MUST sit in the fridge at least 12 or more hours to bring out the flavors. It will taste totally different from when you first make it, so make it at least 1-2 days in advance for the correct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Insanely simple and very good. I didn't feel like onions, and substituted bacon crumbles and it was great with thick cucumber slices. A perfect light lunch for carb counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Jackson75

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I made a 1/2 recipe to try this out. I have a lot of cucumbers growing in my garden and am trying a variety of recipes. I liked everything about it except I thought the onion was kind of strong. I added a little extra cucumber and even cut back the onion some to begin with. I think an extra seasoning would be good to, but I wasn't sure what. It was a tad thick, in my opinion, but it did go well though with pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Love this recipe!!! I used green onions and it not only tastes great, but it's very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonneau, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was delicious! It went great with sliced cucumbers and baby carrots. I used fat free cream cheese, light mayonnaise, and I left the onion out. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Nice summer dip-I used less onion, added dill, subbed Neufchatel for cream cheese and plain greek yogurt for the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Make sure your cucumbers are seeded for this recipe. I added fresh dill and celery salt because it needed a little more pizazz. With the additions, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very nice dip. I think it's more of a spread as written, but I didn't hear any complaints from anyone when I served it at a bbq yesterday. My friend loved it and asked me about the recipe, so I emailed it to her today. I added a bit of dill weed and used salt plus garlic powder (no garlic salt). Turned out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I brought this to our Derby party 2009 & got rave reviews! I drained the cucumbers and rinsed them. I also misread the directions & added a tbs of garlic salt instead of just a tsp. No one complained though. I also added some dill weed, celery salt, and a little sour cream. This recipe is easily altered to taste (various herbs & spices). I actually called it Benedictine since that's a traditional Derby dish. Its very similar. Loved it with veggies as well as with Lime Tostitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
add dill weed, 2 tbs sour cream (easier to spread) make ahead of time-taste better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States