Cucumber Crunch Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe but there's way too much water. I cut down the water by a half cup and honestly it still was too much water. My husband and I both love vinegar so next time I'll try 3/4 cup vinegar and half a cup of water. However, this is just like Dad used to make when we were little. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed the previous reviews, skipped the water and used sugar only. I used a vidalia onion instead of red onion. Added some black pepper and Mrs. Dash seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I tried this and one and it is my all time favorite for cucumbers. When our cucumbers get ripe from our garden I always make this. I didn't add the water at all. You really don't need it if you put the salt in it then the water just comes out of cucumbers. I added dill which I love in it. I rate it a 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAITHLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leaburg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This just replaced my normal tomato, cucumber and onion salad as my favorite. It is very light and refreshing with the right hint of tartness. I used only 1 heaping teaspoon of regular sugar (we dislike the substitute), regular salt and pepper with a heaping teaspoon of dill. We will definitely have this again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Three stars as written for us. This was better the next day after the tang of the vinegar penetrated the cucumbers some, but it was quite watered down. Overall I like the idea and will make this again with only 1/2c water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Quick, simple side dish. Only needs 1/4 cup water. Tastes even better on day two after it has chilled and marinated for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I halved this, as DH won't touch a cucumber to save his life! (Good, more for me). I can't imagine why this recipe would call for water, so like most reviewers, I omitted it. I thinly sliced one English cucumber and had to sub a Vidalia onion for the red (didn't measure; just slivered what looked right to me) and used 1/2 tsp white sugar. I'm standing over the kitchen sink "taste-testing" this, but I can only imagine how good it'll be in another day (if it even lasts that long!) One of my favorite summer sides; this one will be made frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love this recipe, but I also like to add a little pepper to taste and white sugar instead on Splenda. And I agree with everyone, you don't need the water, but I like to cut the vinegar just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
refreshing and simplistic on the palate so you can really enjoy the ingredients! very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I thought this tasted alright. I have tried similar salads with the classic version of this, which I usually make 1 or 2 times every summer, and they are so much better. I didn't have Splenda, so I just used 1 tsp of regular sugar. After adding it, I thought it still tasted like vinegar still and added 1 more. It will get eaten, but I will stick to the full sugar version I normally make each year for holiday picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States