Cucumber Crunch Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious and very refreshing - not to mention light! I love rice wine vinegar! I didn't use the water, didn't see the need for it as the cucumbers produce enough water on their own when combined with salt plus rice wine vinegar is on the mild side. It really doesn't need to be diluted. I used regular salt vs. seasoned salt. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
refreshing and simplistic on the palate so you can really enjoy the ingredients! very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A refreshing salad...I used sugar in place of the Splenda and used only a splash of water instead of the recommended amount. It has plenty of liquid even without using the full amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this as an alternative for the regular cucumber salad made with sour cream, as one of my guests has a dairy allergy. I was surprised at how much I liked it! A perfect lo cal / dairy free substitution to the regular cucumber salad! I too omitted the water - not sure why it is included and why so much. It was plenty liquid-y enough. I also used just 1 teas. of white sugar as I am allergic to artificial sweeteners. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is super Cool for the hot summer months. I like to add celery seeds to mine fora little added flavor. Very nice for company and any meat you would serve with it or a light lunch on a bed of greens, maybe a scop of cottage cheese along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Delicious! I made this on a hot summer day with Thai pork skewers and homemade peanut sauce and it was a hit! The littel bit of sugar made a difference. I salted my cucumber slices for a bit over a bowl in a sieve with a bag of ice water to weigh them down to release some of the mositure. People loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very addictive recipe! I only had red wine vinegar on hand but it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Perfect but without the water and used two tablespoons of white sugar... that's my tweak! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very light salad. I agreed with not adding the water. I added fresh basil as it's growing rapidly in my garden. Great salad. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I halved this, as DH won't touch a cucumber to save his life! (Good, more for me). I can't imagine why this recipe would call for water, so like most reviewers, I omitted it. I thinly sliced one English cucumber and had to sub a Vidalia onion for the red (didn't measure; just slivered what looked right to me) and used 1/2 tsp white sugar. I'm standing over the kitchen sink "taste-testing" this, but I can only imagine how good it'll be in another day (if it even lasts that long!) One of my favorite summer sides; this one will be made frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States