Cucumber Crunch Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious and very refreshing - not to mention light! I love rice wine vinegar! I didn't use the water, didn't see the need for it as the cucumbers produce enough water on their own when combined with salt plus rice wine vinegar is on the mild side. It really doesn't need to be diluted. I used regular salt vs. seasoned salt. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this as an alternative for the regular cucumber salad made with sour cream, as one of my guests has a dairy allergy. I was surprised at how much I liked it! A perfect lo cal / dairy free substitution to the regular cucumber salad! I too omitted the water - not sure why it is included and why so much. It was plenty liquid-y enough. I also used just 1 teas. of white sugar as I am allergic to artificial sweeteners. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is super Cool for the hot summer months. I like to add celery seeds to mine fora little added flavor. Very nice for company and any meat you would serve with it or a light lunch on a bed of greens, maybe a scop of cottage cheese along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was good. However, I agree with the other reviewers that the water is not needed- I added about 1/4 c and it was still very liquidy (if that's a word...). I was out of seasoning salt so I used a pinch of garlic salt instead. Also, I had rice vinegar (not rice wine vinegar) on hand so that's what I used. Great flavors and perfect for a summery salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A refreshing salad...I used sugar in place of the Splenda and used only a splash of water instead of the recommended amount. It has plenty of liquid even without using the full amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Delicious! I made this on a hot summer day with Thai pork skewers and homemade peanut sauce and it was a hit! The littel bit of sugar made a difference. I salted my cucumber slices for a bit over a bowl in a sieve with a bag of ice water to weigh them down to release some of the mositure. People loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very addictive recipe! I only had red wine vinegar on hand but it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
It was cruchy and looked wonderful, but flavor was a bit watery... so drained off most of the watery liquid, added 1 TBLS of Sushi Vinegar (rice vinegar with sugar added) mixed and served about 2 hours later... Perfect flavor, everyone raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Perfect but without the water and used two tablespoons of white sugar... that's my tweak! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Just like my mother used to make when I was a kid. This is a simple recipe that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cera75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States