Cucumber Crunch Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe but there's way too much water. I cut down the water by a half cup and honestly it still was too much water. My husband and I both love vinegar so next time I'll try 3/4 cup vinegar and half a cup of water. However, this is just like Dad used to make when we were little. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed the previous reviews, skipped the water and used sugar only. I used a vidalia onion instead of red onion. Added some black pepper and Mrs. Dash seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I tried this and one and it is my all time favorite for cucumbers. When our cucumbers get ripe from our garden I always make this. I didn't add the water at all. You really don't need it if you put the salt in it then the water just comes out of cucumbers. I added dill which I love in it. I rate it a 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAITHLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leaburg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This just replaced my normal tomato, cucumber and onion salad as my favorite. It is very light and refreshing with the right hint of tartness. I used only 1 heaping teaspoon of regular sugar (we dislike the substitute), regular salt and pepper with a heaping teaspoon of dill. We will definitely have this again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Three stars as written for us. This was better the next day after the tang of the vinegar penetrated the cucumbers some, but it was quite watered down. Overall I like the idea and will make this again with only 1/2c water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Quick, simple side dish. Only needs 1/4 cup water. Tastes even better on day two after it has chilled and marinated for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I halved this, as DH won't touch a cucumber to save his life! (Good, more for me). I can't imagine why this recipe would call for water, so like most reviewers, I omitted it. I thinly sliced one English cucumber and had to sub a Vidalia onion for the red (didn't measure; just slivered what looked right to me) and used 1/2 tsp white sugar. I'm standing over the kitchen sink "taste-testing" this, but I can only imagine how good it'll be in another day (if it even lasts that long!) One of my favorite summer sides; this one will be made frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love this recipe, but I also like to add a little pepper to taste and white sugar instead on Splenda. And I agree with everyone, you don't need the water, but I like to cut the vinegar just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
refreshing and simplistic on the palate so you can really enjoy the ingredients! very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I thought this tasted alright. I have tried similar salads with the classic version of this, which I usually make 1 or 2 times every summer, and they are so much better. I didn't have Splenda, so I just used 1 tsp of regular sugar. After adding it, I thought it still tasted like vinegar still and added 1 more. It will get eaten, but I will stick to the full sugar version I normally make each year for holiday picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States