Cucumber-Cilantro Raita (Yogurt) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Osakachan
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good recipe! Tastes very similar to what we get at our favorite Indian Restaurant in Los Angeles. Some changes: I didn't add the chile pepper, since I would like to keep the yogurt mild. Also, I didn't seed and dice the cucumber, I just used a grater to julienne it and stopped to the point where I would reach the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic - made with Athenos strained Greek-style yogurt (extra thick and rich even though it's fat free), added tomato and purple onion - truly wonderful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mississippimarion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
this went great tonight with my Indian enchiladas. thanks for the post vburrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is very good -- I adapted it to what I had on hand. I used Greek yogurt, Persian cucumbers, and a half a bunch of cilantro, and insead of chiles, I used about a half cup of chipotle salsa that I had. I blended the cilantro, yogurt, and salsa in the blender til smooth, and mixed it with thinly sliced cucumbers. Persain cucumbers are seedless. It was incredibly good. Sort of Indian-Greek-Mexican!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
i loved this! i love the flavor of cilantro, but sometimes find it overpowering. it's definitely not overpowering in this, but the flavor comes through - it's a perfect ratio. i found it a bit salty, but i think i'm on the low end of salt tolerance, so i think it's just the right amount of salt for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
perfect without the chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. Halved the recipe, otherwise didn't change anything. This one's going into the permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Delicious! My husband especially loves this. I don't think he will ever eat curry again without it! I love that it uses some fresh herbs (I added cilantro and a bit of dill). In one preparation I omitted the pepper (for my kids sake) and it was still delicious. I think half a teaspoon of salt per 2 cups of yogurt is plenty. Thank you for such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REKBA99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was so refreshing! I aimed at making this as colorful as I could. I added a bit of red onion, yellow bell pepper, and a tomato ripe from the garden. I didn't have cilantro at hand so I used fresh parsley. I also used 1/3 of a pickled jalapeno, since I had no fresh peppers on hand. I was delighted with the outcome - I used Greek yogurt, which of course, is pre-strained and makes for a thicker, creamier Raita. I paired this with a sweet lamb curry I found on this site. Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Cool and refreshing. Use Greek yogurt and the raita won't become runny. I added a chopped tomato (after removing the seeds) and a little minced onion in place of the chile pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States