Cucumber-Cilantro Raita (Yogurt) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Good! A nice balance of flavours. Second time round I added 1 clove of very finely diced garlic, which I thought worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
perfect without the chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This rendition of raita is perfect. I didn't change a thing. I thought the salt would be too much, but it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I have an Indian friend who used to cook lunch for me and I love her food! I really loved her yogurt Raita. This recipe is so good! Just like hers. The only thing I did differently is I added tomatoes to it because she always does. Yummy, so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic - made with Athenos strained Greek-style yogurt (extra thick and rich even though it's fat free), added tomato and purple onion - truly wonderful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mississippimarion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Osakachan
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good recipe! Tastes very similar to what we get at our favorite Indian Restaurant in Los Angeles. Some changes: I didn't add the chile pepper, since I would like to keep the yogurt mild. Also, I didn't seed and dice the cucumber, I just used a grater to julienne it and stopped to the point where I would reach the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was OK, but a little bland. I'd make it again, but would probably add some mustard seed or something with a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
i loved this! i love the flavor of cilantro, but sometimes find it overpowering. it's definitely not overpowering in this, but the flavor comes through - it's a perfect ratio. i found it a bit salty, but i think i'm on the low end of salt tolerance, so i think it's just the right amount of salt for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is very good -- I adapted it to what I had on hand. I used Greek yogurt, Persian cucumbers, and a half a bunch of cilantro, and insead of chiles, I used about a half cup of chipotle salsa that I had. I blended the cilantro, yogurt, and salsa in the blender til smooth, and mixed it with thinly sliced cucumbers. Persain cucumbers are seedless. It was incredibly good. Sort of Indian-Greek-Mexican!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
this was so good.. perfect to put on top of Indian Fish Curry Recipe from this site.. i probably doubled the cilantro and added a splash of bottled lemon juice.. also left out the green chile pepper.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States