Cucumber-Avocado Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is a very good dressing, I have not yet tried it on a salad, however I did use it as a sauce on a turkey and cheese wrap. The flavour was amazing. I must say two things. I let this mixture chill in the fridge for about 3 days before I used it on anything. Now I don't know if that helped or hurt the flavour. The other thing I have to say in a minor negative light is the cucumber becomes a big of an overpower flavour to the overall taste. My suggestion is to perhaps only use 3/4 of the cuke or maybe even just 1/2. That should allow the flavours of the avacado to come into light as well. This is also a very good substitute for Guac. Just add some onions and a jalapeno to the recipe and you should have a great little mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I'm about to have seconds, this dressing tastes great! Pure and healthy. To give it more kick, I added extra lemon juice and garlic instead of upping the salt content. Yummy on a spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very, very tasty dish! Easy to make and my dad even liked it (he's pretty fussy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a very simple recipe, Each flavor blends beautifully as wll as allowing each flavor to stand on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is pretty good & pretty basic. I followed the recipe to the 'T' except I didn't bother to de-seed the cucumber. Also I added a bit of Tony's Creole Seasoning to give the dressing a kick. Next time I'll adding jalapeno for even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cup*Cake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Definitely make, cover and refridgerate for an hour or so so that the flavors really develop and meld. Also, if you use English cucumbers, you won't have to de-seed them. This makes a terrific salad dressing but I also LOVED it in a turkey/Swiss/alfalfa sprout sandwich - so good! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I used sour cream instead of the oil and lime juice instead of lemon, and this came out great. It is a little thick, but it still worked as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
When I first made this, it seemed like it was missing something. But after I let it sit in the fridge a few hours and allowed the flavors to mingle, well... that was pretty much all it needed! Good stuff! :-) In addition to using as a salad dressing, it works great as a spread in a wrap with smoked salmon and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent dressing. I did add one more clove of garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. Great for a dip as prepared above. For a salad dressing, I doubled the lemon juice, which gave it a bit more zing and made it thin enough for salad dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I didn't seed the cucumber as another reviewer suggested and skipped the oil. Faboulous for me who needed no excuse at all to eat more avocado and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States