Cucumber-Avocado Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This came out so thick it was more for dipping then a dressing. I did add more oil hoping to thin it out a bit, but, it still was too thick. I think it could of used a bit more seasoning too. Ended up dipping veggies in it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I thought this dressing was pretty good. I didn't think it was too thick but it did need something. I might put in more garlic next time. The cucumber taste was great and the cilantro really complimented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I'm a huge fan of avocado so this dressing was perfect for me. It's really creamy and tasty. I added some fresh herbs that suited my palate. Excellent! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I really like this - the cucumber and garlic remind me of a Greek tzaziki sauce. To keep things simple, I just pressed the garlic and threw all of the ingredients in the blender at once. We had it with veggies and fried corn and wheat tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I don't know why the recipe was edited to say the cucumber seeds should be removed. I know the creator of this recipe and she just lightly peels the cucumber and uses the whole thing. She uses more cucumber for a dressing, and less for a dip. When I make it, I use a heaping tablespoon or two of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic because I like that taste better. I love it because I actually enjoy eating raw vegees when I have this to dip them into!!!! I crave it now and have to have some in the fridge all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a refreshing alternative to fatty, oil laden salad dressings. It is a very balanced dressing, and you don't have to worry about overdoing it. My only suggestion is that if you are watching your sodium intake, try using Mrs Dash instead. And if you really want to cut calories and fat content, instead of using the 1/3 cup of olive oil, try using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I didn't seed the cucumber as another reviewer suggested and skipped the oil. Faboulous for me who needed no excuse at all to eat more avocado and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent dressing. I did add one more clove of garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. Great for a dip as prepared above. For a salad dressing, I doubled the lemon juice, which gave it a bit more zing and made it thin enough for salad dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
When I first made this, it seemed like it was missing something. But after I let it sit in the fridge a few hours and allowed the flavors to mingle, well... that was pretty much all it needed! Good stuff! :-) In addition to using as a salad dressing, it works great as a spread in a wrap with smoked salmon and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I used sour cream instead of the oil and lime juice instead of lemon, and this came out great. It is a little thick, but it still worked as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States