Cucidati II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
i disagree that there's is too much filling. My mother's cuci's had double the amount of filling in the picture with this recipe. It's supposed to have lots of filling! That's the best part! :) Just opinion. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I have made this twice now, excellent recipe. 4 stars only because I had to make another 1/2 batch of dough. I subbed 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa pwder for the chips-the texture and taste was better for us. These freeze great and taste better the longer they sit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is an updated review - I originally gave these three stars, as I didn't like them at all, but after drizzling them with a little confectioner's sugar icing and trying them the next day, I think the flavors blended better and even the texture of the dough was better. I still have a bowl of filling though - I would have needed to triple the dough to use it all up! So, either reduce the filling or increase the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Gramma added a cup of strong black coffee and black pepper 1 tbspn. The black pepper is the ''secret'' ingred every1 asks about as they eat them up! Please try it, you'll know what I mean. ;) Hint: The filling freezes very well. I'm using the other half of last year's big cooked batch-we've got a fig tree. Just dbl wrap in quality plastic bags. Buon Natale a tutti !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I followed the suggestions to reduce the amount of honey and when the first batch came out of the oven, we agreed that while incredibly rich, they weren't sweet enough. I added the rest of the honey in and they were perfect. I followed the suggestion to double the dough, but still had quite a bit of filling left. The next day I used it as a topping for baked brie. YUM! I liked it even better with the brie than in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The filling is delicious! I used a different dough recipe but used this filling recipe and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catcassetta
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This italian yummy does take time, but is NOT difficult, but it is worth ithe time if you ask me. This was my first attempt and I'd say it came out fairly well :) By the picture I posted, you can see I chose to forego the icing, the first time, and use powdered sugar instead. I also was in a hurry & didn't read that they should be sealed edges. This seemed to only affect the appearance. ONE VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: like others, I too had to double the dough recipe. The filling would have been 2 inches thick, if not ;) Very yummy cookie, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Delicious! The obly thing: It makes double the filling, so you either need to cut the filling in half or make double the dough. Thanks for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I had never made these before today and decided try something new, since I had dried figs. I have to admit that I didn't think they would turn out, but surprisingly, they're very good! (But they are VERY sweet) They remind me of Fig Newtons.) I substituted prunes for raisins, pecans for walnuts, and butter for shortening. I also halved the recipe. I ended up with a lot more filling than I could fit inside the dough, so if I make these again I'll double the dough recipe, and also add less honey. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Yum. I dislike ratings from reviewers that chance recipes, however this is the perfect recipe to alter - and I'm sure it would be yummy as written... so, 5 stars is called for here. This was exactly the sort of filled cookie recipe I was looking for to use up dried figs. I didn't have all the called for innards the first batch, and I've now made these three times - each batch with different stuffing. I live in Italy now, so there are scads of dried figs during the winter. I always used the figs, but I find I have to chop them with a knife before I put them in the processor with the other ingredients. They are so stiff and sticky that they just create a jam before the blade has made three complete revolutions. I don't measure, so it's figs, something jammie like apricot or orange marmalaide (we have bitter orange here, and that's wonderful), honey (maybe 1/4 cup), orange juice (or our orange, lemon, carrot - just a splash), maybe some craisins or raisins, dried apricots, walnuts or pecans. I pulse everything, but it stays chunky. Add it in the proper stages so that none of it really gets pasty. Also, I don't use the whole amount of sugar in the dough, and I use butter vice some other anything called shortening. I roll the dough out in a large rectangle, about 12 inches wide by however long it needs to be to be about 1/4 inch thick. I cut three strips 4 inches wide, divide the filling by three, lay 1/3 down the center of each of the strips of dough, then I just ra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammaliatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States