Cubed Steak and Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
If you use a flavored wild rice from a box, be sure you do NOT add the spice packet. This recipe adds spices, and the combination of worcestershire sauce gives a great flavor. My kids (ages 6 and 4) enjoyed it, and since the meat is cut during prep time, it saves time at the table. I added a 4-oz can of mushrooms, drained. This recipe will feed two adults and 2 children under 6 twice. My hubby had seconds, and we still have enough left over to have another meal. I think it would be great for a potluck. I served this with steamed broccoli and a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Good base recipe, I will make it again with a few changes. First of all I think I will leave the steaks whole next time, as the presentation wasn't very attractive. I also will substitute some or all of the water for beef broth. I'm glad I read the previous review because I would have included the spice pakcet from the wild rice mixture and it would have been WAY too much garlic flavor. Overall we enjoyed it, though, even pleased 2 out of 3 kids. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
The flavours were good but the proportions were not right because my rice was very soggy and that just spoiled it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Dish would be much better with a different cut of beef, but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOCHOCOBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as it was written without reading reviews first. I added the seasoning packet that came with the rice and the dish was excellent. Not too much garlic at all. Not too spicy. Hubby had three helpings and there was none left for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
It was great. And, yes perhaps I would use half of the packet of seasoning or less of the recommended garlic powder. It was a great and quick change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Came out ok, but we did a white wine deglazing and reduction and felt it added just what was needed. We also did not cut up the cube steaks, but left them whole. The recipe was a nice jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Good stuff, only I changed it a little. I sauted onions with the butter and steak. I also used a rice a ronie wild rice box mix with the sauce packet. I didn't use the onion powder, garlic powder or worsheshire sauce. I also served it over biscuts which was delicious! guess i changed it a lot. but my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
It's so easy to make. And everyone I served enjoyed it very much. I would definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was very good. Next time I am going to decrease the Worsteshire sauce as it was a bit to spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States