Cubed Steak and Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreding
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Not bad I do think it probably would have added a little taste if I had use the seasoning pack that had came with the rice,will try again Ina few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamestime1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
First recipe I tried, it was awful. After making it, I realized it's important to read other's reviews for adjustments or warnings. I don't think I'd ever try this one again, but if I did I'd definitely replace all the powdered onion/garlic with real. Also, I don't think I should have added the spice packet that came with the wild rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sorin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
After 1 hour the rice was still severely undercooked. I have cooked the rice outside this recipe before and it came out great. The liquid ingredients in this recipe did not seem sufficient to steam the rice for as long as it needed to cook. I gave it one star because the taste was good...just crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Usually I don't like cube steak but make it because my husband does. This one was terrific. I used a little olive oil instead of butter and some real garlic instead of the garlic powder. Also I made white rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Love this recipe. My husband keep saying "This is really good, I really enjoy this" My 4 and 5.5 year old loved it too.. It was a hit and I will make it again. I used the season packet that came with the Rice A Roni Long grain and wild rice. Excellent dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyKinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Not bad - There is not much you can do quick with a cheap cut of meat - Would make again if in a hurry like tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a close call for me. I tried to make it exactly as written, but because of a couple of problems with the recipe, it wasn't as good as it could have been. This was the first time I think I'd ever bought cubed steak (my package was a little larger at 1.13 lb.). For the rice, I used Rice-a-Roni Long Grain & Wild Rice "Original", which came with a "Special Seasonings" packet. The recipe didn't mention anything like this; is there really supposed to be a package that contains just the rice? I've never seen it. I considered saving the seasoning packet for another use, but decided to use it. Also, I found there was way too much water used here. At 25 minutes, most was still there; I cranked up the heat to medium, and at 35 minutes, a majority of it was gone, but by then the rice was mushier than it should have been. The results tasted too much of the garlic and onion powders; even without the spice packet I thought those amounts might have been too much, and perhaps teaspoons instead of tablespoons would be better. I liked the idea of this recipe a lot; the cubed steak and mushrooms and rice showed a lot of potential. Based on my experience, I'll only give this 3 stars; with adjustments to the seasonings and to the added water, this could easily be a 4-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Quick easy, and DEEELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
We couldn't even eat this. I thought with the amount of spices it would be good, but it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States