Cube Steak Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Tasty. I like cube steaks but there doesn’t seem to be many ways to fix them. I’d give this 5 stars for concept and flavor and I’ll probably make it again. But I gave it only 4 stars for ingredient amounts and method. The flour and the cracker mixtures were very skimpy amounts to bread 4 steaks. I also hate it when canned goods are called for in uneven can amounts. Instead I used a whole 15 oz. can to avoid having leftover tomato sauce and adjusted my spices. I’ve found that even though cube steaks are tenderized at the market they are still a fairly chewy piece of meat. I followed the baking method in this recipe as stated. Next time I will bake the browned cube steaks longer with the sauce poured over them and covered with foil so they “stew” a bit for added tenderizing. Then melt the cheeses on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Can I say Yum. I did change a few things, didn't have crackers, so breaded it flour/garlic salt combo, egg and then italian seasoned bread crumbs which works well with the recipe anyways. As per another reviewer, when baking the already fried steaks, I put them in a baking dish sprayed with pam, and poured store bought spaghetti sauce over the top, covered with foil and baked for 20 minutes. Placed thick slices of mozzarella on top of the sauce and baked for 10 minutes longer, served on top of spaghettini...very good and fairly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
OH MY WORD! I have used this recipe several times. I have a catering business on the side and even my customers liked it. My husband and I use the breading recipe (first 9 ingredients) for chicken, pork chops etc., brown them in some olive oil and serve with your favorite dipping sauce or gravy. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toews is Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hesston, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband really liked it. I would have only given it 3 stars. I will make it again, but I will change a few things. For starters, I didn't think the cubed steak got tender enough, so it needs to be cooked longer. I will probably brown it the same way, pour the sauce on, cover and cook for an hour or more. Secondly, I would use a marinara sauce or pasta sauce instead of plain tomoato sauce. There wasn't enough flavor for me in the tomato sauce, even with the basil & sugar. My husband works for a tomato company, so I'm pretty used to spicy, flavorful sauce and this didn't do it. Even my dh complained about that a little and thought it would be better with a jarred spaghetti sauce. However, it smells fabulous and with a few alterations, I can see this being a 7 star recipe! P.S. I also didn't like the cheese on the top, but that is just me. My 3 year old daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This is a good dish. I did change some things though. I used bread crumbs seasoned with Italian seasoning since I didn't have any crackers and I used store bought sauce. Overall, this was a really easy & good meal. I'm just so excited that there's another way to cook cube steak. Being from the south, all I've ever done is fried it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I am trying to use up what I have in the freezer, and I had some boneless, skinless chicken breasts that had been run through a tenderizer. They had the same bumpily appearance as a cube steak, so I used them. The browning process cooked them through so I didn't have to bake them. I used panko instead of saltine crackers for the breading, and an eight ounce can of tomato sauce with a can of diced tomatoes for the sauce. These came out great. I'll try it with beef cube steaks when I'm allowed to buy new meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Really great recipe! I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs in place of the crushed saltines. Tasted great... the whole family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
awesome with venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was good but a little bland. I will use spaghetti sauce instead of plain tomato sauce next time. Also, it seemed like something was missing.....should be recommended to be served with spaghetti, such as with chicken or veal parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Very good blend of flavors. Nothing was overpowering like some Italian dishes. Very easy to prepare and visual appeal was great! I used shredded mozzarella instead of the slices and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States