Cube Steak Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Yummy! Even my picky hubs liked this!!! My mom served fried cube steaks often growing up because they were cheap, easy to prepare & my dad loved them. I hated cube steak Monday's SOOO much, I vowed to NEVER eat them as an adult. I've had a hankering for veal Parmesan lately, but am "trying" to maintain a budget (vacation & the holidays are just around the corner). Cube steaks are cheap, so I decided to give this a try. I am happy to say, I was not disappointed in the least. :) As with any new recipe I try, I made a few changes. Since my grocer only sells 2 cube steaks per pkg. (~ 1 lb. worth of meat), I made 2 steaks instead of 4. I also subbed a jar of Prego marinara sauce because I already had it on hand. I doubled the seasoned flour & cracker mixtures and am glad I did.... There really wasn't any need to double the flour mixture, but I definitely would have run out of the cracker crumb coating had I not doubled it. Instead of baking my browned cube steaks uncovered (without sauce), I topped them with my jarred sauce, covered with foil & baked for DOUBLE the amount of time called for. I was afraid I'd end up with tough meat otherwise (cube steaks are a pretty tough cut of meat even AFTER being tenderized). After my steaks were cooked thru, I added the mozzarella / Parm cheeses & oregano, baked another 5 min. and then tossed under the broiler for a few min. to brown. Served with spaghetti, a salad & garlic bread, this was a really good meal. Thanks for sharing, SMR012! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We LOVED this! Made sauce from the fresh tomatoes we canned with fresh mozzerella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This recipe was good but too much acid.. and we arent sensitive either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I was in a hurry so I used a jar of ready made spaghetti sauce rather than sauce as on recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
OMG We LOOOOOOOVED this. Best. Use. of Cube Steak. Ever! Served it over angel hair with extra sauce (used mushroom garlic - jarred, because it was really late at night and I was making this for lunches for the week). It really was so delicious and had no problems with toughness. Baked it for another probably 7 minutes with sauce and cheese on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My family thought it tasted like meatloaf but they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was super freaky gooood! It tastes like a dish served in a restaurant. The only tweaking I did was at the end I added shredded parmesan after spooning sauce on top instead of grated parmesan. I served it with Pasta e Olio, salad and garlic toast. Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicysouthernmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Making this recipe tonight. I used Vinta herb and garlic crackers, instead of saltines. Through in some crushed tomatoes in the crock pot and then added the browned meat with garlic and topped with more parmesan. Smells great!! I love to use Epicure spices to all my meals. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My family enjoyed this very much. I had to triple the amounts to feed a family of seven which includes two teenage boys. I used spaghetti sauce instead of making the sauce as directed. After coating and frying the last thing I wanted to do was cook an extra "thing." We served it over whole grain spaghetti. We also served it with caesar salad II which is on this site. I'm excited to eat the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Delish - although instead of all of the sauce ingredients I did 'cheat' and use pasta sauce (shhhh). The flour/saltine/parmesan cracker mix wasn't enough. I only made 2 cube steaks and it only covered that. For anyone that uses this recpie - please double the amount of flour and saltines/parmesan mixtures. Thanks for posting a delish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States