Cuban Water Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I had NEVER baked bread before, but I grew up with a mother that made a lot. I was curious that the recipe didn't put the yeast in a little bowl with warm water first (since I saw my mother do it all the time). So... I looked around to find out why - It is called proofing the yeast (testing it) - because it CAN go bad. It was also mentioned that it 'proofing' is not required... Anyway - I did it the way my mother did - warm water and sugar in a pre-warmed bowl - add the yeast and wait for it to froth up a bit (a couple of minutes) - The first batch I used dropped to the bottom of the bowl and did nothing - no bubbles - it just sank. So I bought some new yeast (that hadn't been in the cupboard for years) and tried it - the yeast mostly floated and swelled up immediately. So - I would suggest that the ONLY reason some people had difficulty with the bread rising is because they had bad yeast - Another note on that - on advice from my mother I made sure the room was warm with no cold breezes - she said it would stall the bread from rising. Apart from some poor loaf forming on my part, the bread was perfect - one was symmetrical... the other looked like a bad comb over - but was still good As for the 'salty' taste - Well, I don't bake a lot - my first 'bread' attempt - but I DO cook a lot - Salt is used to taste and is not required for a recipe to work - so... add what you want (within reason - hehe) or cut it all out...it just affects taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is very similar to my favorite James Beard recipe for Cuban bread. The main difference in the recipes, is that Beard does not allow the bread to rise until double after having shaped it into loaves It should only sit for around 5-10 minutes. He also only brushes it with cold water once, just prior to putting it in the oven. I recently made this bread with bread flour. BIG MISTAKE! The texture was entirely different with a dense and even insides. Making it with all purpose flour gives a more interesting texture and taste with a crisper crust and lots of air pockets within.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Limprecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I'm so disappointed. I really wanted to like this recipe and for it to work, but it turned out like a brick even though I followed the recipe exactly. I have worked in bakeries and made countless loaves of bread, but unfortunately, this recipe just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara Leigh Koehler
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed directions for the bread except I only used 4.5 cups of flour. The dough was silky and beautiful! I rolled the bread into a flat rectangle so I could cut it into sandwich squares. It is a nice salty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Leigh Koehler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
We really liked this. I halved the recipe, started with 1 cup WW and just kept adding the AP flour 1/2 cup at a time until I had a nice workable dough. It was just shy of 3 1/2 cups total. I think this recipe is less about how much flour or water and more about the method. I have never started baking bread with a cold oven before, although I have put a pan of water in the oven and sprayed my bread if I want a crisp crust. This was just what it advertised itself to be a chewy crust and a light moist crumb. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This bread has a really good taste, I really thought it would be bland, but it's not. I kept adding in the flour 1 cup at a time and it didn't take anywhere near 8 cups, I think I only used 5 or something like that. I'm not sure what I did, but it didn't rise very well, no matter, I baked it anyway and my husband and I both enjoyed this addition to our Cuban meal...I will make this bread again! And get it right the next time...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I am a professional baker, and this bread was TERRIBLE! After reading the other reviews, I added an extra 1/2 T of both salt and sugar, but it was still horrible and way too salty. Like others, I baked it with a pan of water in the oven. I let it rise for over 12 hours (about 10 hrs for the first rise and 2 for the second) but it did not not double, and after baking it was extremely dense, heavy, salty, and gross. I kneaded it in the kitchenaide mixer for 7-8 minutes. I should have paid more attention to the other negative reviews - and you should too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Very good. Takes some time to rise but during that time you can do whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
okay, i've had several versions of cuban bread, the best being james beard's from beard on bread, and I'm a baker, I saw this recipe(and having lost the beard recipe) decided to try it out, (should've known better by %ages) I made the dough and it looked like pasta dough. I believe it would have a hearty crust, but how the heck is it supposed to rise when it feels like a football? I think the amounts of flour and water need to be adjusted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Turned out amazing! I cut the recipe in half, which calls for 4 cups of flour. I could not get even 3 1/2 cups in; I tried and tried! The first 2 cups were bread flour, the third was whole wheat pastry flour, and the rest was all purpose. Nice crusty outside, soft on the inside, smelled and tasted wonderful! Next time I will make the whole recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States