Cuban-Style Yucca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was good, but needed a lot more onions. It comes out a bit dry and taste lacking - like it takes on the taste of what you cook it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Beautiful, simple flavor. My husband and I loved this recipe. I added lemon zest as well, because we like a stronger lemon flavor. This is the first time I have tried yucca and definitely not the last. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My lovily cuban neighbor shared many recipes with me when he saw my love for cooking, as with many reviews given, the cook time is a bit off, as the yucca in the markets is not as good as the fresh that AL would bring over from his garden, if fresh, than about 20 mins if not fresh than 25-30, some things he recommended: Lime juice instead of lemon, it gives a different dimention, I also was told to heat the oil than pour over the lemon or lime, garlic, and zest, if you like, along with a couple pats of butter, it gives a lovily addition to this dish. I than garnish with citantro, and finely chopped green onion... but will be trying the chives...it looks really yummy on the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A delicious way to eat yuca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I really liked this; I decided to cut it up into 5-6cm chunks and then toss it in a bowl with the onion mixture to get it more evenly distributed. Needs a little bit of sea salt sprinkled on it when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good. Not wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband is from Brazil and just boils the yucca which I find boring. This recipe is perfect... we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just finished making this... I boiled the yucca for roughly 25 minutes, maybe a tad bit longer. I heated the oil, garlic and onion (I used two small onions), lemon and lime juice, (at the suggestion of one of the other reviewers) threw in a pinch more salt and pepper to the pan, then stirred everything together. It is delicious, delicious, DELICIOUS!!!! I will happily make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great! I do not like to add lemon juice or any citric to my yucca so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Went to the outdoor market and saw a yucca. I had never tried it so I bought it. Found this recipe, it sounded like it would go with our stuffed Poblano pepers. I gave it 4 stars because not everyone liked it. Personally I did. It does need to cook for 25 min( as other reviewers said) The texture of yucca is like turnips (not the taste). I will try yucca again maybe with a sweet sauce and see if it goes over better. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States