Cuban-Style Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Since I only needed this for a few people and the reviews complained of it being runny I made a few change with great results. I sauteed 1 C of dry rice, onion, and garlic in hot oil and then added about 1/2 tsp annatto powder, 1/4 tsp paprika, a little chicken bouillon, and 1/2 tsp cumin. Then I added 2 C water and 1/4 c frozen peas. I brought it to a boil, turned heat to low, then covered and cooked 20 mins. I removed the rice from the heat and left covered for 5 mins. Then I fluffed with a fork. PERFECT! I served this with Salsa Chicken (also from this site) for an easy weeknight meal. This was a great way to use my annatto powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe is delicious! But I found an even more delicious and quicker way to make yellow rice! I used Vigo yellow rice and was amazed. Vigo yellow rice was so simple to make and tasted even better than the home made rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a very good recipe, although I am partial to short grain (pearl) white rice. I used half an envelope of sazon instead of the annato powder and paprika, as these are both included in the sazon. Re: Don in Maryville Try cutting down the liquid to 6 cups. Long grain rice can be tricky sometimes. That's the proportion that usually works out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
very bland for cuban rice, if you loose the peas & pimiento and add 1 clove garlic finely minced, & 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes you can get closer to a rice dish recognizable to most cuban food aficionados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Unsure why this recipe has a lower score. I usually do not look at recipes with lower score, however this one intrigued me and for my surprise it was pretty good. You should give it a try. I did not used peas or pimientos- do not care for them- and I cooked on the rice cooker and followed the rice cooker instructions. Served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This turned out really good - although a little 'wet' like some others. I may cut down on the liquid next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was pretty bland. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
rice was too sticky and wet. what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Subtle but pleasant flavor, the ideal counterpoint for a more boldly flavored main dish. I didn't have annatto powder but a quick internet search told me that equal parts of paprika and turmeric would be a suitable substitute. Also, rather than cook the onion in the water, I sautéed it briefly in a little butter before adding the rice, then let that toast a bit before adding the water and finishing the cooking. Not wanting to open a jar of pimientos for the little I needed for just Hubs and me, I finely chopped some red bell pepper to take its place. It added both color contrast and extra flavor. I served this with Quick and Easy Shrimp Fajitas and Cucumber-Mango Salsa, both excellent recipes also from this site. Hubs and I agree we'd gladly eat this exact same meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have not tried this recipe, but having lived in Miami and eaten and cooked delicious Cuban food for over 25 years, I understand the "bland" reviews. First the water to rice ratio is too much. Try cutting down to 1 1/2 cups of water for each cup of rice. Secondly, because the spice and onion were not made into a sofrito (sauted in a little oil with diced garlic (not included in this recipe) the flavor of the spices is diluted in the water. The sofrito - onion, garlic, red or green bell pepper should be sauteed in the oil before the annato is added. When I make Cuban style yellow rice, I also add a bay leaf to the sofrito. After the veggies have softened, I add the rice to the mixture, stirring for about 2 minutes. That allows it to absorb the flavors of the spices and the yellow color from the annato. Finally, add the water, bring to boil, then lower heat and simmer for 15 - 20 minutes. Take out the bay leaf. Then add the sweet peas at the end. Stir rice before serving. Hope this helps. If I make this rice within the next week, I will post my recipe and pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States