Cuban-Style Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Since I only needed this for a few people and the reviews complained of it being runny I made a few change with great results. I sauteed 1 C of dry rice, onion, and garlic in hot oil and then added about 1/2 tsp annatto powder, 1/4 tsp paprika, a little chicken bouillon, and 1/2 tsp cumin. Then I added 2 C water and 1/4 c frozen peas. I brought it to a boil, turned heat to low, then covered and cooked 20 mins. I removed the rice from the heat and left covered for 5 mins. Then I fluffed with a fork. PERFECT! I served this with Salsa Chicken (also from this site) for an easy weeknight meal. This was a great way to use my annatto powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe is delicious! But I found an even more delicious and quicker way to make yellow rice! I used Vigo yellow rice and was amazed. Vigo yellow rice was so simple to make and tasted even better than the home made rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a very good recipe, although I am partial to short grain (pearl) white rice. I used half an envelope of sazon instead of the annato powder and paprika, as these are both included in the sazon. Re: Don in Maryville Try cutting down the liquid to 6 cups. Long grain rice can be tricky sometimes. That's the proportion that usually works out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
very bland for cuban rice, if you loose the peas & pimiento and add 1 clove garlic finely minced, & 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes you can get closer to a rice dish recognizable to most cuban food aficionados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This turned out really good - although a little 'wet' like some others. I may cut down on the liquid next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Unsure why this recipe has a lower score. I usually do not look at recipes with lower score, however this one intrigued me and for my surprise it was pretty good. You should give it a try. I did not used peas or pimientos- do not care for them- and I cooked on the rice cooker and followed the rice cooker instructions. Served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was pretty bland. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
rice was too sticky and wet. what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I live in an area where cuban food is very popular and served often at restaurants. I used half chicken broth and half water but otherwise followed the recipe. I think this had very little flavor, but it did cook up beautifully texture-wise. I hate to admit it, I will be sticking with the Vigo package mix when I want to make yellow rice. Just don't think it's worth the effort to try tweaking this to our tastes. Admittedly, this totally could be a personal taste preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have not tried this recipe, but having lived in Miami and eaten and cooked delicious Cuban food for over 25 years, I understand the "bland" reviews. First the water to rice ratio is too much. Try cutting down to 1 1/2 cups of water for each cup of rice. Secondly, because the spice and onion were not made into a sofrito (sauted in a little oil with diced garlic (not included in this recipe) the flavor of the spices is diluted in the water. The sofrito - onion, garlic, red or green bell pepper should be sauteed in the oil before the annato is added. When I make Cuban style yellow rice, I also add a bay leaf to the sofrito. After the veggies have softened, I add the rice to the mixture, stirring for about 2 minutes. That allows it to absorb the flavors of the spices and the yellow color from the annato. Finally, add the water, bring to boil, then lower heat and simmer for 15 - 20 minutes. Take out the bay leaf. Then add the sweet peas at the end. Stir rice before serving. Hope this helps. If I make this rice within the next week, I will post my recipe and pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States