Cuban-Style Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm the submitter of this recipe, and one change I've made since submitting this recipe is that I slice the olives instead of chopping. Makes for nicer presentation and you get more olive flavor from the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This "Cuban-Style Picadillo" was excellent! I loved the way the sweetness of the wine permeated even the capers and olives. This meal is a real treat! I can hardly wait to make it again! My only change next time will be to fry the cumin with the ground beef and onion mixture as I usually do (instead of adding the cumin in with the liquids as in this recipe) to take the "raw edge" off my freshly-ground spice. Thank you lutzflcat for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this tonight with Congri (Cuban black beans and rice), and it was a winner! I'm half Puerto Rican, but never cook the food I grew up eating, it always seemed so time consuming to make. This is actually a pretty easy dish to make, and reminds me of the filling my mother makes for empanadillas, particularly the olives, capers and raisins. Like another reviewer, I took a shortcut, i cubed the potatoes and microwaved them while browning the meat. I thought I had raisins, but couldn't find them, so I resorted to picking them out of a bag of trail mix! I didn't have the amount the recipe called for, but that was ok, because that's the one thing I don't care for in the empanadilla filling. My boyfriend was hesitant initially - he wasn't sure what to make of the picadillo, but a few bites in, and he was hooked. Instead of plain white rice, I recommend making congri, which is pretty easy and flavorful, and can be made alongside this dish (especially if you use a recipe that calls for canned black beans - I used one that was not from allrecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is what we (two of us with some taste-testing from my visiting daughter) had for dinner, half the recipe, that is, and we agreed that it is a keeper! I do think I would do things just a tad different next time. First, I won't forget to buy the green pepper! I made no sub for that. Second, I would add double the cumin (personal preference). Third, I used regular-sized green olives and cut them in half, but next time I'd either quarter them or slice them in neat little slices (I'd like more of a bite of them more often). Fourth, I'd cut the potatoes a little smaller---about 3/8" to 1/2" cubes and maybe even add just a little tiny bit of butter to the olive oil to make them brown a little better. I loved it when I had a raisin in my fork--just that little bit of sweetness was great! We do have a few leftovers, but we are going to wrap those in flour tortillas with a little cheese and salsa this weekend! I'll let you know how that turns out! Thanks for this new taste treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I learned of this recipe and Cuban food by reading one of the submitter's blogs. I was very excited to try this recipe and I was not let down. Although I've had nothing like it before (not a huge Cuban influence where I live) and nothing to compare it to, I can't imagine this "Picadillo" any other way. What a tasty dish! I thought the red wine would over power, but it really only added to the flavours. The browned potatoes added something too. Next time I may get them a little crispier for some more texture. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of omitting the raisins. I just can't bring myself to eat them. I imagine they would've added a sweetness that we obviously didn't miss. Thanks lutzflcat for sharing a cultural dish that we would have never known about. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this tonight, turns out just for myself. I used a meatloaf mix. That is what I had. Didn't have any golden raisins therefore omitted. I really liked it. I imagine the raisins would counter act the richness of the wine and meat. If I do make again, I will have to plan better. Thanks for the post lutzcat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I halved the recipe to use 3/4 pound of ground beef. I nuked the potato to save dirtying a pan, used white wine instead of red and doubled up on the olives (we like our olives). Never having eaten picadillo before I wasn't sure what to expect. After it simmered for a bit I ended up doubling the cumin and oregano and will probably double the potato next time as well. (I liked the idea of frying the potatoes before adding so they wouldn't get mushy) A tasty dish, definitely different from our usual. Thanks, lutzflcat, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Almost exactly the same way I cook Picadillo! Only I used white wine and did not have capers. Delicious. My entire family loves Picadillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States