Cuban-Style Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Sofrito is the key to Cuban cooking! This recipe starts out right...Onion,garlic, sauteed in Olive oil is a must!No beer in Cuban beans-instead add cumin,1-2 bay leaves, salt(!!!), pepper, "bijol" if you can find it at your Latin grocer. All of these are to taste- Cuban style cooking (a pinch here or there- a lo cubano). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Did not care for this. Thought it seriously lacked in flavor. I am a huge fan of Cuban food and this did not taste like those black beans found in Cuban restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good bean recipe. I made it as described except with Yuengling and doubled everything and my family liked it. If making it for myself I would have added some jalapenos or anchos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an excellent quick recipe for black bean soup. I omit the beer just b'cuz I don't like it. Also, I'd saute 1/4 to 1/2 lb. chopped bacon in the pan first, remove the bacon, & saute the veggies in the drippings. This adds an authentic flavor to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good! I found that using a little less beer makes it less soupy and more of a side dish. I also added cumin, some cayenne, and red pepper flakes to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was very good...the flavor was GREAT!!!!! I didnt have the right kind of pepper so I used red pepper flakes and it was wonderful. Parts were a little dry but will surel make this recipe again. I will try not to cook it so long next time. I left it in the crockpot for 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Good stuff. I used Sam Addams a pretty heavy beer and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe. I'd never added beer to beans before and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Easy, yummy and inexpensive. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Not as tasty as I though missing the famous caribbean taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States