Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It was very good, I'll just take out the red pepper flakes for next time. It was way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
After one bite, the husband said 'Instant Classic', which means, 'Get this into the recipe book, it's going to be part of our regular rotation'. It's so inexpensive to make (Hillshire Farms Lite Smoked Sausage goes on sale so frequently) and essentially a cupboard meal for us. Served it over brown rice. The only thing is that it was quite salty AND SPICY!!!! I had to actually add a spoonful of sour cream to mine to tame/cool it down some. I will add one heaping teaspoon of crushed red pepper next time instead of the full 2 teaspoons and will go looking for the low sodium adobo. Update: made this with low sodium adobo and it's still pretty salty, not sure what to do next....I used no salt added tomato soup, 1 teaspoon low sodium adobo and marsala (since I only have cooking sherry at home which has added salt to it), and that helped a little bit. I hope to find reduced sodium sausage, because the low sodium adobo seems to be missing certain spices like cumin, so I'd like to go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I really love this recipe. I serve it with sliced avacodo on top. I didn't have chorizo but I had a hamhock so I used that instead and the flavor was still great. I do want to try it with the chorizo next time though. Instead of the liquid in the can, I used beef broth, it worked well. This is definitely a family favorite and my kids loved it which is the true test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas' Haiku: "This turned out so good! Just wish it had some color. But still, mmmarvelous!" The reviews complaining of this recipe being bland evidently didn't see the submitter saying, to add more of any seasoning to your taste, and frankly, I did just that, but I imagine it would be fine as written, since adobo seasoning and smoked sausage are both such flavorful ingredients. I halved the ingredients (for 3 people), added a bay leaf, 2 minced garlic cloves, diced yellow bell pepper, and surprisingly, swapping sherry for apple juice, as that's all that I had LOL. I let mine simmer for 1.5 hrs. so the chickpeas wouldn't be, as my husband calls them, "pebbley", and really, I thought this was pretty tasty, but just boring of color, so when I make it again, I'll have to throw in some zucchini, kale, tomatoes, or whatever for some additional color and zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty, but simple and comforting. I thought it was a bit salty with 3 tbsp of Adobe seasoning. This may be due to the type of sausage I used. Next time I'll add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Kelliher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Sooo good. I didn't have sausage so used leftover ham and I didn't have sherry so I used rye and it was still fantastic! Can't wait to try it with the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this last night and it came out great! I cut out a few things because I didn't have them at home. I made it without the wine, onion, and adobo seasoning. I added a little bit of hot sauce to give it a kick. Came out great! I served it over whole wheat pasta for dinner. Next time I willl seve over rice......but we just happened to not have any rice this time! Great recipe, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this last night. what a great easy dinner. I did not have tomato sauce so I used a can of chopped tomatoes. I simmered it for an hour. The smell was great ! At the end I added some chopped fresh cilantro. I served it over brown rice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made a few mods - Turkey sausage, olive oil, one can garbanzo and one can black beans. I had a red pepper and onion flake seasoning on hand so I used that and only used the adobo seasonings (homemade) along with a full 15.5 oz. can of Muir Glen Tomato sauce. Everyone is spot on with let it simmer! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe, used beef sausage and didn't have any garbanzo beans so we did without and it was great. We ate it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States