Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recipe was very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and all 5 of the kids liked it, including myself. It was very quick and simple as I had almost all the ingredients in my pantry already. Instead of tomato sauce, I used stewed tomatoes. I did not have sherry or marsala. I served it over a bed of steamed greens and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Really liked this as a base recipe. I doctored as I do all recipes depending on what I have on hand. Added a red pepper with onion, can of no salt added tomatoes, cumin, paprika, lime zest and used fresh garlic in place of powder. Right before serving I added a few handfuls of spinach/kale mix and a little lime juice and fresh parsley. Served over rice with avocado, sour cream and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mongo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very, very good recipe! I read the comments about it being too spicy, but that's a matter of taste. My husband likes spicy food, this will be one of his favorite dishes. I prefer less spicy, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming. I made a couple changes... I substituted a can of black beans for half of the garbanzo. I also rinsed and drained the beans and used 15 ounces of tomato sauce instead. I like juices! I had no adobo seasoning so I substituted 1 tablespoon of Franks hot sauce, and bumped the garlic powder to 1 teaspoon. I do think cooking time needs to be at least 1 hour to blend the flavors. Serve this over hot cooked rice and it is amazing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Photo by mrsrjoseph
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! I love how simple it is to make this recipe. I used andouille sausage and it was great. Served it over white rice. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Easy & the kids discovered they LOVE Chick-peas! I was in the mood for indian flavor, so I substituted Garam Masala & Cumin, but kept everything else.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added some cut up spinach and changed sausage for four slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderfully flavorful dish!! Followed the easy recipe pretty closely (simmered 90 mins). I questioned the need for the addl' oregano & garlic powder since those two are essential parts of adobo seasoning. Anyway... loved the dish! Simple, inexpensive comfort food & ingredients we normally always have on hand. Of course it was even better the next day after all the goodies stewed & refrigerated overnight. I added a chopped red bell pepper for color & I plan to try this again w/ a zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It was very good, I'll just take out the red pepper flakes for next time. It was way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
After one bite, the husband said 'Instant Classic', which means, 'Get this into the recipe book, it's going to be part of our regular rotation'. It's so inexpensive to make (Hillshire Farms Lite Smoked Sausage goes on sale so frequently) and essentially a cupboard meal for us. Served it over brown rice. The only thing is that it was quite salty AND SPICY!!!! I had to actually add a spoonful of sour cream to mine to tame/cool it down some. I will add one heaping teaspoon of crushed red pepper next time instead of the full 2 teaspoons and will go looking for the low sodium adobo. Update: made this with low sodium adobo and it's still pretty salty, not sure what to do next....I used no salt added tomato soup, 1 teaspoon low sodium adobo and marsala (since I only have cooking sherry at home which has added salt to it), and that helped a little bit. I hope to find reduced sodium sausage, because the low sodium adobo seems to be missing certain spices like cumin, so I'd like to go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States