Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is a staple now. Best to let it simmer at least an hour. The leftovers are even better the next day. May want to tone down the red pepper flakes and adobo for kids. Also, the 2nd time, I subbed Mama Socorro's all natural taco seasoning for the adobo, because it was handy. Tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan E. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Was disappointed at first, too salty, too spicy, but thought it had great potential, we made the folllowing changes and loved it. adobo and red pepper flakes to taste. we added one green peppper, a clove of garlic to the onion base as well as a chopped seeded tomato. drain the beans, replace the liquid with chicken broth and we added one diced potato into the mix, let it cook for an hour till the potatoes were temder and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recipe was very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and all 5 of the kids liked it, including myself. It was very quick and simple as I had almost all the ingredients in my pantry already. Instead of tomato sauce, I used stewed tomatoes. I did not have sherry or marsala. I served it over a bed of steamed greens and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Really liked this as a base recipe. I doctored as I do all recipes depending on what I have on hand. Added a red pepper with onion, can of no salt added tomatoes, cumin, paprika, lime zest and used fresh garlic in place of powder. Right before serving I added a few handfuls of spinach/kale mix and a little lime juice and fresh parsley. Served over rice with avocado, sour cream and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mongo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very, very good recipe! I read the comments about it being too spicy, but that's a matter of taste. My husband likes spicy food, this will be one of his favorite dishes. I prefer less spicy, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming. I made a couple changes... I substituted a can of black beans for half of the garbanzo. I also rinsed and drained the beans and used 15 ounces of tomato sauce instead. I like juices! I had no adobo seasoning so I substituted 1 tablespoon of Franks hot sauce, and bumped the garlic powder to 1 teaspoon. I do think cooking time needs to be at least 1 hour to blend the flavors. Serve this over hot cooked rice and it is amazing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Photo by mrsrjoseph
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! I love how simple it is to make this recipe. I used andouille sausage and it was great. Served it over white rice. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Easy & the kids discovered they LOVE Chick-peas! I was in the mood for indian flavor, so I substituted Garam Masala & Cumin, but kept everything else.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added some cut up spinach and changed sausage for four slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderfully flavorful dish!! Followed the easy recipe pretty closely (simmered 90 mins). I questioned the need for the addl' oregano & garlic powder since those two are essential parts of adobo seasoning. Anyway... loved the dish! Simple, inexpensive comfort food & ingredients we normally always have on hand. Of course it was even better the next day after all the goodies stewed & refrigerated overnight. I added a chopped red bell pepper for color & I plan to try this again w/ a zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States