Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very, very good recipe! I read the comments about it being too spicy, but that's a matter of taste. My husband likes spicy food, this will be one of his favorite dishes. I prefer less spicy, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming. I made a couple changes... I substituted a can of black beans for half of the garbanzo. I also rinsed and drained the beans and used 15 ounces of tomato sauce instead. I like juices! I had no adobo seasoning so I substituted 1 tablespoon of Franks hot sauce, and bumped the garlic powder to 1 teaspoon. I do think cooking time needs to be at least 1 hour to blend the flavors. Serve this over hot cooked rice and it is amazing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Photo by mrsrjoseph
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! I love how simple it is to make this recipe. I used andouille sausage and it was great. Served it over white rice. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Easy & the kids discovered they LOVE Chick-peas! I was in the mood for indian flavor, so I substituted Garam Masala & Cumin, but kept everything else.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added some cut up spinach and changed sausage for four slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderfully flavorful dish!! Followed the easy recipe pretty closely (simmered 90 mins). I questioned the need for the addl' oregano & garlic powder since those two are essential parts of adobo seasoning. Anyway... loved the dish! Simple, inexpensive comfort food & ingredients we normally always have on hand. Of course it was even better the next day after all the goodies stewed & refrigerated overnight. I added a chopped red bell pepper for color & I plan to try this again w/ a zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It was very good, I'll just take out the red pepper flakes for next time. It was way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
After one bite, the husband said 'Instant Classic', which means, 'Get this into the recipe book, it's going to be part of our regular rotation'. It's so inexpensive to make (Hillshire Farms Lite Smoked Sausage goes on sale so frequently) and essentially a cupboard meal for us. Served it over brown rice. The only thing is that it was quite salty AND SPICY!!!! I had to actually add a spoonful of sour cream to mine to tame/cool it down some. I will add one heaping teaspoon of crushed red pepper next time instead of the full 2 teaspoons and will go looking for the low sodium adobo. Update: made this with low sodium adobo and it's still pretty salty, not sure what to do next....I used no salt added tomato soup, 1 teaspoon low sodium adobo and marsala (since I only have cooking sherry at home which has added salt to it), and that helped a little bit. I hope to find reduced sodium sausage, because the low sodium adobo seems to be missing certain spices like cumin, so I'd like to go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I really love this recipe. I serve it with sliced avacodo on top. I didn't have chorizo but I had a hamhock so I used that instead and the flavor was still great. I do want to try it with the chorizo next time though. Instead of the liquid in the can, I used beef broth, it worked well. This is definitely a family favorite and my kids loved it which is the true test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas' Haiku: "This turned out so good! Just wish it had some color. But still, mmmarvelous!" The reviews complaining of this recipe being bland evidently didn't see the submitter saying, to add more of any seasoning to your taste, and frankly, I did just that, but I imagine it would be fine as written, since adobo seasoning and smoked sausage are both such flavorful ingredients. I halved the ingredients (for 3 people), added a bay leaf, 2 minced garlic cloves, diced yellow bell pepper, and surprisingly, swapping sherry for apple juice, as that's all that I had LOL. I let mine simmer for 1.5 hrs. so the chickpeas wouldn't be, as my husband calls them, "pebbley", and really, I thought this was pretty tasty, but just boring of color, so when I make it again, I'll have to throw in some zucchini, kale, tomatoes, or whatever for some additional color and zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty, but simple and comforting. I thought it was a bit salty with 3 tbsp of Adobe seasoning. This may be due to the type of sausage I used. Next time I'll add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States