Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Just made this dish for dinner. It was fantastic. I ended up using at least twice as much water to keep the chops covered, so I also doubled the thyme (added another big sprig) and peppercorns. I served this with red beans and rice, and thought it tasted best when I mixed the meat/onion mixture with the beans and rice on my plate. On its own, the shredded meat is hard to keep on a fork! It needed the moisture of the rice and beans, and the blending of the flavors was superb! Yum! This will also be terrific on tortillas, with a bit of melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This dish is absolutely a hit! The meat turned out tender & moist. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe with a 4# pork shoulder and it came out wonderfully. Couple of things - today's pork is a bit lean - if it won't fry well, add a bit more olive oil. And, if the meat starts getting too dry, add some of the water it was cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I thought this tasted fantastic! I couldn't find fresh thyme at the store so I used dried and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
went to a pot luck x-mas meal at a church with a primarily latino membership. i made the shredded pork and the cuban beans and rice(i subbed black beans for kidney beans) it was a hit i made enough for twenty people, an d at the end of the night everything was gone the people couldn't believe the gringo had made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Would other reviewers let me know how they served this pork? I served it with black beans and rice, but maybe it should be served in a tortilla with some kind of sauce? I found the pork too dry - the recipe did say fry until crisp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good recipe, and super easy to make. It did turn out a tiny bit dry, which might be solved with some additional oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I thought this was "ok." The flavor was good (with plenty of lime), and I liked the onions and garlic in it. Seemed to work best in tortillas along with black beans, cheese, ect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Excellent! I did add a liitle more seasoning to the broth. It came out very tender and when you combine the cilantro and lime it like a POW! party in your mouth with all the different flavors. This is going into my recipe box. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLEYCAT27
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was very good. I made it in the pressure cooker to save time. After cooker reaches stabalized pressure I let it cook for 10 minutes. Then I turned off heat and let it sit for 30 minutes without removing the lid of the pressure cooker. The pork was so tender it fell apart as I tried to remove it from the pot. My advice if you do use pressure cooker is to only add the 16 oz of water or else the flavor is not as strong. I used 24 oz water and I had to add more spices later while It was frying. To avoid dry pork, I stir fried it on ultra high heat until it was toasted on the outside and added the onions during the last 5 minutes. Remember, you want it moist and tender inside and crispy on the outside so you must use high heat to accomplish this. Maybe a couple of bay leaves might make it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States