Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My meat was dry but it could have been the cut I used; still tasty and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was looking foward to making this. I was disappointed. The last step made the pork very dry, my husband called it "pork pellets". I am still in search of good recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and I thought it was delicious. I didn't have thyme or onion powder on hand so I substitued bay leaves, cumin seeds, and a sprinkle of oregano. I also thought this recipe needed WAY more than a pint of water to keep the meat covered during boiling (I even used less than 1 lb of meat). Next time I make this I think I am going to throw in some ortega chiles at the end. I served this recipe with black beans, tortillas, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Not much flavor. Took long for bla results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I went out on a limb to try something different and I'm glad I tried this recipe. I took the advise below and added cumin when crisping the pork, And I (gladly) omitted the cilantro since I'm not a fan. My husband LOVED this. He was getting all creative (which isn't the norm) and asked if we can have it with pickled cabbage on a toasted bun next time. So, it looks like I'll be making this again! (Also, I should note: Due to the reviews of dry pork, I covered the pan after adding the onions & garlic. I also added in some lime zest.) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very tasty, but think that I cooked it a bit too long :(. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was so good! It was pretty easy to make and had a wonderful flavor. I'm not a big fan of pork chops, but I will definitely make this again. The only changes I made were to use fresh garlic and onion. I don't even keep powdered versions in my house because the flavor from fresh ingredients is so much better. We ate it with homemade pico de gallo, wrapped in warm flour tortillas. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Just made this dish for dinner. It was fantastic. I ended up using at least twice as much water to keep the chops covered, so I also doubled the thyme (added another big sprig) and peppercorns. I served this with red beans and rice, and thought it tasted best when I mixed the meat/onion mixture with the beans and rice on my plate. On its own, the shredded meat is hard to keep on a fork! It needed the moisture of the rice and beans, and the blending of the flavors was superb! Yum! This will also be terrific on tortillas, with a bit of melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This dish is absolutely a hit! The meat turned out tender & moist. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe with a 4# pork shoulder and it came out wonderfully. Couple of things - today's pork is a bit lean - if it won't fry well, add a bit more olive oil. And, if the meat starts getting too dry, add some of the water it was cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States