Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
went to a pot luck x-mas meal at a church with a primarily latino membership. i made the shredded pork and the cuban beans and rice(i subbed black beans for kidney beans) it was a hit i made enough for twenty people, an d at the end of the night everything was gone the people couldn't believe the gringo had made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Would other reviewers let me know how they served this pork? I served it with black beans and rice, but maybe it should be served in a tortilla with some kind of sauce? I found the pork too dry - the recipe did say fry until crisp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good recipe, and super easy to make. It did turn out a tiny bit dry, which might be solved with some additional oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I thought this was "ok." The flavor was good (with plenty of lime), and I liked the onions and garlic in it. Seemed to work best in tortillas along with black beans, cheese, ect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Excellent! I did add a liitle more seasoning to the broth. It came out very tender and when you combine the cilantro and lime it like a POW! party in your mouth with all the different flavors. This is going into my recipe box. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLEYCAT27
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was very good. I made it in the pressure cooker to save time. After cooker reaches stabalized pressure I let it cook for 10 minutes. Then I turned off heat and let it sit for 30 minutes without removing the lid of the pressure cooker. The pork was so tender it fell apart as I tried to remove it from the pot. My advice if you do use pressure cooker is to only add the 16 oz of water or else the flavor is not as strong. I used 24 oz water and I had to add more spices later while It was frying. To avoid dry pork, I stir fried it on ultra high heat until it was toasted on the outside and added the onions during the last 5 minutes. Remember, you want it moist and tender inside and crispy on the outside so you must use high heat to accomplish this. Maybe a couple of bay leaves might make it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
My hubby makes this every so often. He loves to experiment with different ethnic recipes. We LOVE this recipe! We serve it with black beans and rice~Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Nice! I really enjoyed the difference of shredded-ness with the chops! Will experiment with other flavorings (bbq, fruit, etc.) in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I was not impressed, and neither was my family. The pork was dry, even though I took the advice of other reviewers to add more oil and lime juice at the frying stage. I also found it rather bland. I wouldn't make this again, tho I'm sure there are some tricks that might make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was a really good recipe! Instead of shredding the pork before frying, I left them chunked. Also, I was told to fry them really slow and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States