Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I really expected this to be an okay dish. Imagine my surprise when my very picky four year old daughter got in trouble for picking meat out of the bowl while I was trying to shred it. I didn't pay attention to the size of tomato sauce needed, so I used a 14 oz can instead of 8. I had way too much sauce left over too. I would next time add more garlic, cumin and possibly some chili powder. I used the meat to make enchiladas. Instead of the canned sauce I purchased I used the left over meat sauce to make the enchiladas. Also, I only cooked my meat on high for about 6 hours and it was done perfectly. I suspect 10 hours would have been way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This recipes was great, and it was perfect with a cheaper cut of meat (round tip roast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Great recipe! Tastes just like the ropa vieja I get at authentic cuban restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is one for you to try, very rich in flavor. Depending on your taste buds after you shred the meat you can add a little salt.Taste great over white rice or with soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is a wonderful winter dish! I used canned tomatoes in place of the sauce and paste. Also, company came unexpectedly, so I threw in about a pound of kielbasa sausage about 3 hours before we ate. Turned out great. What great flavors and it seems to be better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Great loved it. Just like Papi use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This is a great recipe! Super-easy and really tasty! I served this with the Cuban Beans and Rice recipe also from this site. The two went perfectly together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
The only thing I can say about this recipe is WOW!! I threw it all in the crock, and 8 hours later I had the most delicious meal to serve my hard working husband. Even my little picky eaters cleaned their plates!! There was nothing over powering or harsh about the seasonings, or flavors. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was happy to find this quick version of a recipe I got from a gourmet magazine and it was just as good! As per the gourmet version, I added a lot more garlic (5 cloves but will probably use even more next time) and 1/4 cup of capers at the end, which added a nice salty/tangy flavor. Next time I will try this with a can of drained tomatoes rather than the sauce because I think there was more than enough liquid with the beef stock. I think the nicest thing about this recipe is that it uses many fresh ingredients rather than canned or powdered soup, etc. that seems to be popular in crock-pot cooking. This might take a few more minutes to prepare than some other crock-pot recipes but it is definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Very good recipe. Added the tomato paste but not the tomato sauce and it still created a lot of sauce. Left out the green pepper as I didn't have one. Wife and kids loved it. Used top round steak as I didn't have flank steak and it shredded very nicely after simmering in slow cooker. Served it on soft tortillas like a burrito with tomatoes, scallions, cheddar cheese and sour cream and was very yummy. I added some tabasco to my own serving to kick it up a bit. I think next time I will serve by itself with a rice and beans side dish. This was a nice change of pace to the ordinary meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States