Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this wonderful recipe and my husband and I loved it! I brought some to workand shared some with s co-worker and he loved it. The smell of just heating it up got the rest of the office going. They kept saying "Wow that smells good what is that"? I have directed several people to this recipe. It's easy to make and even better on cold days. I used a couple of cans of diced green peppers instead of the bell peppers which gave it a nice but subtle kick. I also used a can of whole cooked tomatoes drained which made more than enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe rocks! It's an easy and tasty way to cook for a family. The balance of cumin and vinegar is perfect. I used a "lesser cut" of top round London broil and it fell apart deliciously after 6 hours in the slow cooker. I'll try this the next time I'm entertaining a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this for my parents and brother. I have had Ropa Vieja at a restaurant as well as made by my sister in the past. My sisters' is probably the best (but she's an amazing cook!). This version was very good and so simple to make. Everyone liked it! I would definitely make it again. My brother doesn't like onions, so he pulled those out (maybe I'll cut them smaller next time). My 7-year-old niece (who is picky) enjoyed the meat (and the onions). I didn't have beef broth, so I made it from a cube. Also, we accidentally got FLAP meat instead of Flank steak - but the beef was as tender as could be. I also didn't have tomato paste, so used two cans of tomato sauce. None of these things made any difference I think. I only gave 4 stars, because as with others, I think it could have a little more flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Wow, this was delicious and a crowd pleaser! I took the advice of another reviewer and added a packet of sazon goya. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using 2.5 pounds of flank. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is fine for a guideline, but my old and trusty cookbook that has this recipe in the original Spanish does it better. Nix the cilantro and vinegar and the slow cooker. Get yourself some dry white wine, alcaparrado (chopped olives, pimentos and capers)a bay leaf and a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I made a few changes though; I used pork tenderloin because thats what I had on hand. It shreds up so nicely. I pretty much omitted the tomato paste and sauce, I used about 2 tablespoons at most. I also didn't add cilantro, because I ddin't have any. I don't brown the meat, I just toss everything into the crockpot and let it go. And I also add about 2-3 teaspoons of cumin. But all in all, this recipe has great bones - I serve it with white rice, black beans, and plantain, and now this is a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Definitely better with an additional splash of lime juice right before you start eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was ok for me. I'm not keeping it in my recipe box as we didn't like it well enough to keep on any rotation or serve to guests. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Definitely needs salt! But amazing nonetheless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this with pork, couldn't find the steak and the pork was on sale, so I though, what the heck! I let it slow cook all night and oh my goodness can't wait for dinner! This is so delicious! The picture on my monitor looks brown, but mine is really red from the tomato sauce I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States