Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Tastes more like beef stew than Ropa Vieja. The entire recipe needs to be reworked to be closer to the Ropa Vieja in my favorite Cuban Restaurant. To much tomato flaver. Next time I will substitute red wine for half the tomato paste. I doubled the garlic and yet you still barely taste it. I will add more next time. It does need salt, probably 1-2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This has officially become my boyfriend's favorite dinner recipe. He asks me for it all the time. Thanks for the recipe. I actually use chicken and chicken broth instead of beef to mix it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
go easy on the cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was so very good. Lots of flavor. We had it over plain white rice and had leftovers a few days later over baked potatoes. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this just as called for except because other reviewers had mentioned adding extra garlic (and we really like garlic) I did put in extra, and then used a sprinkle of garlic powder too. I used "Mystery Meat" that was frozen in our freezer...it may have been pork rather than beef and it had also been frozen in a marinade, which is why I couldn't tell for sure. But... obviously by my 5 star rating it was still really good! Everyone really liked it; kids included. I thought there was a ton of flavor! A few times we have been disappointed on allrecipes.com recipes because they have been seasoned enough, never because they were over seasoned. This one is NOT lacking in flavor or seasoning. Will definitely make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a simple recipe with outstanding results. I serve it with the traditional black beans and rice with a green salad. I am not Cuban, but I lived in Miami for several years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brryko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This came out nicely. Next time I'll deglaze my searing pan with a small amount of beef broth and dump that into the slow cooker so I don't lose any of the tasty flavor. I'll also try to only use maybe 1/4 cup of beef broth and omit the tomato sauce, because mine came out saucier than I'd have liked. For a stew it came out perfect, but I like this dish best served on grilled garlic bread, as my favorite Cuban restaurant offers, and it was just too wet for that. The flank steak was fantastic in this, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The flavors of this dish are wonderful. But, if you aren't that keen on a tomato-based sauce, you might not care for it. But, the cumin and other seasonings are truly as good as at the Cuban restaurants. I served it with long grain rice, Cuban black beans and yeast rolls. I barely had enough of the beef for one serving of leftovers! It was that good and so easy to do in the Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Well, we already had some great tender beef so I somewhat adapted this recipe. I cooked the onion and green peppers with oil and garlic (at least double what it called for), then I added the beef stock, tomato paste, and used a can of enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce to give it more flavor and less of a tomatoey taste. Although I adapted the recipe, I still give it only 4 stars because I had to add quite a bit more seasoning to get it to taste delicious instead of just okay. It's a great base recipe! I served it more mexican style with corn tortillas and traditional toppings but it would be great with rice and beans as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This has become one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States