Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Love this! I let this cook as slow and long as possible to get the most tender meat. I use a roast instead of flank steak because at my small town store the flank steak (if they ever have it in) costs over twice as much. I add a couple more cloves of garlic because I like it. We serve with small flour tortillas, cilantro/lime rice and black beans with salsa and queso fresco. I'm getting ready to make this again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and used stew meat instead of flank steak. This was delicious and a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I liked this. Next time I would add something to make it spicy. We ate it with rice...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Extremely tough and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is so easy to make and very good. Have had it at a few Cuban restaurants and this is very close. I highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlvee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I cooked this as an example of Cuban food, and it turned out pretty well. http://hetzelkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/04/cuba.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'm honestly not sure what ropa vieja should taste like, I was just looking for a way to use up some flank steak. This was just okay. Easy, but not overly impressive, a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make and the taste was enjoyed by all, so for a busy weeknight meal, I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I added two sliced red peppers to this, and made a batch of sofrito sauce ( http://www.tasteofcuba.com/sofrito.html ) to this recipe. The kids put theirs in large tortillas and ate it like fajitas, I had mine spread out on a bed of black beans and rice. This is a delicious dish, that you can experiment with and make in several different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Have made it 3x already, the first time was to bring to a party so I decided that the easiest way to served it was on tostadas,(fried/baked corn tortillas) what a success!! I came back with a clean plate. So the next 2x I kept the tostadas as a most do. I added, as some suggested here, more garlic, 2 baggies of Goya seasoning, 3 bay leaves, capers, oh and salt. Leftovers? I had leftos the last time and decided to make sliders, just added bbq sauce and nobody noticed it was the same meat as the night before!! money saver! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States