Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Good flavor. I used a chuck roast because flank steak in the crackpot doesn't seem right to me. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because it was all I had. We enjoyed the leftovers as shredded beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Did not taste good at all. My husband and I could not figure out at all how to revamp this. I followed this recipe exactly as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmerdaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Marsing, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Disappointing. No flavor at all. Ate over brown rice and had to add hot sauce and worcestershire to make it reasonably palatable. Definitely will NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I tweaked it a bit by adding a red pepper in addition to the green pepper. (Peppers should be cut into 1" squares rather than strips) I also used four cloves of garlic and about 3/4 cup of sliced pimento-stuffed green olives. I found it took approximately six hours to cook on high because I had used chuck roast cut into pieces because the store did not have flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Add a jar of olives and two snack boxes of raisins to make this authentic Cuban.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
kids not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
As other reviews said, this recipe has potential. The sauce was good ( I did add more salt and cumin at the end) but the meat was tough and chewy. Better to use a different cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great Cuban classic. Beef brisket works well also. Double the garlic and sub large onion for for small one recipe calls for. Need to add 1/2 teaspoon of salt as well. Serve with black beans and rice and garnish with cilantro, sliced red onions and pickled jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a little too "tomatoey" for me although the taste in and of itself is quite good. I might try it with pulled pork next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was excellent with a few tweaks... I used a medium-large onion instead of small, added extra cilantro and garlic, and also added some black pepper, oregano and a small bay leaf. Because my tomato sauce was unsalted, I also needed to add salt. I used top round steaks, because they're what I had on hand. After cooking on low all day, they were falling apart. I think flank steak would have been equally good, if not a little better, because of the stringier texture. I served this with brown rice, black beans and fried plantains. It's a keeper with the added spices, but seems a little bland as written. We like things spicy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States