Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for. I was missing good cuban food when I moved to Colorado from Tampa. I used frozen pepper strips (yellow, red and green) added about 1/2 cup of green olives with their juice and a small jar of pimentos. Fabulous flavor! But please don't ruin it with sour cream and cheese!!! Serve with yellow rice and seasoned black beans and toasted cuban bread if you can find it. Also, the flavor really develops if you can resist and cook it longer not to mention it becomes much more tender. Thanks for the taste of home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very, very easy and tasty. The prep time for this was even less than 15 minutes. You more or less throw everything into the crock pot and wait. Do not skip the broiling step which carmelizes the meat and creates a seal. This is essential. The only things I did different were: (1) I did not use flank steak. I figured that it was going to be stewed down incredibly anyway so it didn't matter what the beef was. I used a thick cheaper meat and it was fine. (2) I cooked it for 5 1/2 hours on high. (3) served with fresh lime and cilantro on top and sour cream on the side. And (4) served with black beans and rice. Some of us wrapped everything in tortillas which was amazing as well. Went will with margaritas and mojitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Good flavor. I used a chuck roast because flank steak in the crackpot doesn't seem right to me. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because it was all I had. We enjoyed the leftovers as shredded beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Did not taste good at all. My husband and I could not figure out at all how to revamp this. I followed this recipe exactly as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmerdaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Marsing, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Disappointing. No flavor at all. Ate over brown rice and had to add hot sauce and worcestershire to make it reasonably palatable. Definitely will NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I tweaked it a bit by adding a red pepper in addition to the green pepper. (Peppers should be cut into 1" squares rather than strips) I also used four cloves of garlic and about 3/4 cup of sliced pimento-stuffed green olives. I found it took approximately six hours to cook on high because I had used chuck roast cut into pieces because the store did not have flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Add a jar of olives and two snack boxes of raisins to make this authentic Cuban.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
kids not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
As other reviews said, this recipe has potential. The sauce was good ( I did add more salt and cumin at the end) but the meat was tough and chewy. Better to use a different cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great Cuban classic. Beef brisket works well also. Double the garlic and sub large onion for for small one recipe calls for. Need to add 1/2 teaspoon of salt as well. Serve with black beans and rice and garnish with cilantro, sliced red onions and pickled jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States