Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Missing flavor: salt, spice. This recipe smelled great, it looked great, but when my guests and I dug in, we all sort of looked at each other. They were very polite, but we all agreed there was very little flavor. I'm sure I didn't make any mistakes. Compared to cuban restaurants, this recipe is missing salt and a minor amount of spiciness. I'm not giving it 1 star, but having to pass a salt shaker around your table is embarrassing. And no, we're not salt fiends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very tasty! Didn't have tomato paste, so subbed a 27 oz can tomato sauce & allowed it to slow simmer for 45 minutes. Added 2 bay leaves, subbed 1 tsp key lime juice for the vinegar, omitted cilantro (hubs hates it) & added extra cumin to taste. Kids & hubs all really enjoyed it, not realizing it was a reasonably healthy dish :-). Served with Cuban black beans, Jasmine Rice & a tossed salad...very enjoyable meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just tossed everything into the crockpot without browning......near the end added some small colored bell peppers for a nice color addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe on Sunday and i loved it. It was very easy to make. I think the hardest part about it was finding the flank steak because most grocery stores do not carry it. To my surprise my local publix had it in stock.. I cooked it on my stove top because i really don't like my slow cooker, it took about 3 hrs on top of the stove. I followed one of the suggestion above about seasoning the meat. I seasoned it with the regular seasons i use and then seared it in the pot. I added the rest of the ingredients with the addition of 1 cup of water. I also used half of the can of tomato paste. i put sugar in to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. It turned out great. My boyfriend loved.. i would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Haven't tried yet, but have a chuck roast in the freezer begging for this recipe. Just a note --- whenever I use a meat recipe such as this where no salt and pepper are listed among the ingredients, I always generously salt and pepper the meat before before cooking it or adding it to the slow cooker. The dish usually turns out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very easy to make! My boyfriend and I went to a Cuban Restaurant a few weeks back and I've been craving this ever since. Found this recipe and made last Monday. Its very easy to assemble, I work a full-time 8-5 job and Zumba after so it get a little tough for me to make us dinner the nights I have Zumba. When I made I use a London Broil and the rest of the ingredients exactly. It turned out wonderfully, and I was able to have a GOOD meal before my class. My boyfriend loved it and wants me to make it again, and that I can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe and really liked it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was excellent! So tasty and so easy. I follwed the suggestion to season with Sazon prior to cooking, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The meat was tender and easy to shred, and served with rice and black beans it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
So easy to make & smelled great while cooking! Delicious as written, though I thought it was even better with a squeeze of lime and sprinkle of kosher salt when I served it. I served with cilantro lime rice and cuban black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the meat was nice and tender but the flavor was not there. It had a very heavy tomato taste. Between the tomato paste and tomato sauce, I understand why. I have had ropa Vienna many times and this did not hit the mark. I am going to research and see if there are Spanish spices missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States