Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Have made it 3x already, the first time was to bring to a party so I decided that the easiest way to served it was on tostadas,(fried/baked corn tortillas) what a success!! I came back with a clean plate. So the next 2x I kept the tostadas as a most do. I added, as some suggested here, more garlic, 2 baggies of Goya seasoning, 3 bay leaves, capers, oh and salt. Leftovers? I had leftos the last time and decided to make sliders, just added bbq sauce and nobody noticed it was the same meat as the night before!! money saver! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So good - tasted authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really good. I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes (drained), a packet of Goya Sazon, a handful of olives and only used half can on tomato sauce... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricancook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I started this recipe at 11 am and cooked it in the crock pot on low until 8pm. I seared the flank steak in oil and after I removed it and placed it in the crock pot, I added the beef broth to the pan to scrape up all the bits and then added that to the crock pot. I mistakenly put too much vinegar but added some brown sugar towards the end to balance it and it came out delicious. I also more than doubled the garlic and added red wine and spanish olives. I'm sure it will be even better next time when I use the right amount of vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe, but for cubans must be accompanied with white rice and avocado salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband liked this dish... a lot. A whole lot. I used leftover beef from my freezer (roast, leftover from another Allrecipes favorite of mine, "Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast", which I make often). I used a whole head (17 cloves) of garlic, and about a 1/4 cup fresh cilantro. ( I literally laughed out loud when the recipe called for 1 teaspoon cilantro. I don't think so :) Unfortunately, the bell pepper didn't make it to my basket at the market, so I made the dish without it (which bummed me out). I chose to serve this dish with steamed white rice, and a bean medley cooked in beef broth with earthy spices. The beans and rice are a MUST with this dish. I do not think this recipe rates 5 stars without the beans and rice on the side. But, together, the dish is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I make this all the time, and I love it. I think it is great the way it is listed, but I've made variations here and there. Usually, I will just add extra peppers or sometimes I'll use sofrito. I made this once for my father, who is from Cuba, and he loved it! Served over white rice with a side of black beans, sliced spanish olives and with plantain chips, SO GOOD! Oh and the leftovers make for an amazing filling for a sandwich. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used usda flank steak and made some variation. I brown the meat on both sides to seal it. I put the browned meat into the pressure cooker and add 2 cups of beef broth cooking during 10 minutes on high pressure. meanwhile I seasoned the rest of ingredients together and sautéed in olive oil then I added the shredded meat with a cup of red wine and cook for 10 minutes until sauce is thick. Serve with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irene91867

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for. I was missing good cuban food when I moved to Colorado from Tampa. I used frozen pepper strips (yellow, red and green) added about 1/2 cup of green olives with their juice and a small jar of pimentos. Fabulous flavor! But please don't ruin it with sour cream and cheese!!! Serve with yellow rice and seasoned black beans and toasted cuban bread if you can find it. Also, the flavor really develops if you can resist and cook it longer not to mention it becomes much more tender. Thanks for the taste of home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very, very easy and tasty. The prep time for this was even less than 15 minutes. You more or less throw everything into the crock pot and wait. Do not skip the broiling step which carmelizes the meat and creates a seal. This is essential. The only things I did different were: (1) I did not use flank steak. I figured that it was going to be stewed down incredibly anyway so it didn't matter what the beef was. I used a thick cheaper meat and it was fine. (2) I cooked it for 5 1/2 hours on high. (3) served with fresh lime and cilantro on top and sour cream on the side. And (4) served with black beans and rice. Some of us wrapped everything in tortillas which was amazing as well. Went will with margaritas and mojitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States