Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe, I love Ropa Vieja -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I thought this was fantastic! My measurements were a little different (more beef broth and less tomato stuff) because that's what I had. I also used a chuck roast and added a can of green chilies as well as a packet of sazon, salt and pepper, a little more vinegar. I thought it was better the next day. With due respect to the Cubans, thank you for the flavorful meat, but we can be flexible enough to eat it with rice, in a tortilla, or inside a chewy French roll. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe and the meat was bland. After the meat cooked, I shredded the meat, added sofrito, more garlic and cumin. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This turned out well (Personally, it could use a bit more flavor). My Cuban Mother-in-law would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I actually made this recipe for my Cuban mother-in-law. I have to admit, it tastes exactly like hers. The only change I made was to add a sliced red bell pepper. I used the low setting on my cooker. Cooked for 6 hours, then shredded, then returned to slow cooker for another hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I used a chuck cross rib roast and I followed the advice of others to add capers to the dish and it elevated the flavors. I also added some lime juice, brown sugar, and a packet of Goya sazon. I was afraid that it was a little too soupy, but the beef just soaked it up after sitting awhile. My friend thought I added cornstarch or a thickening agent and was amazed to learn that I didn't use any. This is great over rice. This is definitely a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
lol yup ,I'm Cuban and I agree with you Mimi,we don't eat tortillas,unless we go to a Mexican restaurant lol,we serve Ropa Vieja with ,black beans and white rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizwizerd
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Super easy and tastes fantastic ! Left it in the slow cooker all day and the meat was like butter! So tender and moist , I added a half table spoon of sugar and a packet of Sazon towards the ends and that just brought out all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Very good, double the sauce and veggies...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I cooked this last night in my crock pot and it was delicious! I always wanted to make ropa vieja. I tweaked the receipe a little. 1. I punctured the flank steak with a fork on both sides, then I rubbed in mccormick grill mates steak seasoning, garlic powder and Adobo Light before i seared it. 2. After I transfered the steak to the crock pot and used the left over oil in the pan to brown the onions. 3. Instead of beef broth, I used 1-Knorr Tomato Chicken Boullion disolved in one cup of hot water (brings out the beef flavor in the steak) and pour it on top of the browned onions and mixed the tomato paste and sauce then 4. pour the stock and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. 5.I used yellow/orange/red sweet little sweet peppers as well instead of the green pepper. It was a SUCCESS!!! coming from a puertorican ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Waikele, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States