Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I used a chuck cross rib roast and I followed the advice of others to add capers to the dish and it elevated the flavors. I also added some lime juice, brown sugar, and a packet of Goya sazon. I was afraid that it was a little too soupy, but the beef just soaked it up after sitting awhile. My friend thought I added cornstarch or a thickening agent and was amazed to learn that I didn't use any. This is great over rice. This is definitely a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
lol yup ,I'm Cuban and I agree with you Mimi,we don't eat tortillas,unless we go to a Mexican restaurant lol,we serve Ropa Vieja with ,black beans and white rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizwizerd
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Super easy and tastes fantastic ! Left it in the slow cooker all day and the meat was like butter! So tender and moist , I added a half table spoon of sugar and a packet of Sazon towards the ends and that just brought out all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Very good, double the sauce and veggies...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I cooked this last night in my crock pot and it was delicious! I always wanted to make ropa vieja. I tweaked the receipe a little. 1. I punctured the flank steak with a fork on both sides, then I rubbed in mccormick grill mates steak seasoning, garlic powder and Adobo Light before i seared it. 2. After I transfered the steak to the crock pot and used the left over oil in the pan to brown the onions. 3. Instead of beef broth, I used 1-Knorr Tomato Chicken Boullion disolved in one cup of hot water (brings out the beef flavor in the steak) and pour it on top of the browned onions and mixed the tomato paste and sauce then 4. pour the stock and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. 5.I used yellow/orange/red sweet little sweet peppers as well instead of the green pepper. It was a SUCCESS!!! coming from a puertorican ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Waikele, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This had very little flavor. I had to add a significant amount of cumin, garlic and salt to give this any kind of flavor. I didn't get the cuban flavors I hoped for. Definitely not worth it, considering the price of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Missing flavor: salt, spice. This recipe smelled great, it looked great, but when my guests and I dug in, we all sort of looked at each other. They were very polite, but we all agreed there was very little flavor. I'm sure I didn't make any mistakes. Compared to cuban restaurants, this recipe is missing salt and a minor amount of spiciness. I'm not giving it 1 star, but having to pass a salt shaker around your table is embarrassing. And no, we're not salt fiends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very tasty! Didn't have tomato paste, so subbed a 27 oz can tomato sauce & allowed it to slow simmer for 45 minutes. Added 2 bay leaves, subbed 1 tsp key lime juice for the vinegar, omitted cilantro (hubs hates it) & added extra cumin to taste. Kids & hubs all really enjoyed it, not realizing it was a reasonably healthy dish :-). Served with Cuban black beans, Jasmine Rice & a tossed salad...very enjoyable meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just tossed everything into the crockpot without browning......near the end added some small colored bell peppers for a nice color addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States